Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 17th, 2005, 05:12 AM
chaos's Avatar
chaos chaos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 204
Upgrades

Question, If I upgrade my computer, mobo, ram, CPU, will I have to re-inatall linux (slackware 10) Or can will it pickup the new harware and adjust? I really don't feel like starting over again.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 17th, 2005, 05:59 AM
kage's Avatar
kage kage is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
O/S: Linux
Posts: 1,644
As long as the basics of your computer stay the same, it should be fine. If you are Upgrading from ide to sata hard drive types, p4 to amd64, etc, then you will probably have some trouble, but it can all be worked around.

Last edited by kage; April 17th, 2005 at 06:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New upgrades cougar62 Hardware 9 December 30th, 2007 06:50 PM
Upgrades help JesterFX Gaming 6 January 29th, 2007 10:20 PM
How Do These Upgrades Look? Vanchatron Gaming 1 December 23rd, 2006 06:57 AM
Upgrades Supremedalek1 Hardware 3 August 31st, 2004 03:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 AM.