Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 19th, 2006, 01:30 PM
SJC SJC is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
My computer takes a long time to load

Hi,

My laptop is about 2 months old and it was running fine for a while, but it's started taking a while to start-up and load programs. It takes about 4-5 minutes for my computer to load everything and be ready to go after i've turned it on, which seems like a very long time and a lot longer than it took when i bought it. It's definitely not a malware issue, i've scanned for everything and it's come up clean.

It's confusing as I haven't added any big programs that would considerably slow it down, does anyone know what else could cause it?

Thanks,
SJC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 19th, 2006, 01:45 PM
steffkelly steffkelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows 8 Pro
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 220
How much RAM have you got? How much hard disk space is left? Find out whats running at startup, click start, run and type in msconfig. Next click the startup tab. Most are self explanatory but any you dont know you can google, find out what they do and whether they are necessary at startup
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:10 PM
SJC SJC is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
0.99 GB of RAM and 44.1GB space left on the C Drive. This is why it seems strange to me that it takes a while to load up, especially as there is no virus/trojan horse/adware etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:23 PM
SJC SJC is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
I've Googled the processes running on my startup but i'm still unsure, i'll post them here for an experts view! They are:

igfxtray
hkcmd
igfxpers
jusched
stsystra
DMXLauncher
SynTPEnh
WLTRAY
isuspm
issch
RealPlay
qttask
mcmnhdlr
oasclnt
mcagent
mcupdate
MSKdetct
DLACTRLW
MskAgent
mcvsshld
GoogleToolbarNotifier
MsnMsgr
Adobe Reader Speed Launch
Digital Line Detect

There is also another one which is blank, it doesn't seem to have a name or command but its location is HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:24 PM
steffkelly steffkelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows 8 Pro
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Did you have a look in msconfig?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:25 PM
SJC SJC is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by steffkelly View Post
Did you have a look in msconfig?
Yep, i posted it above
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:27 PM
steffkelly steffkelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows 8 Pro
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 220
i wonder if the adobe reader would make much of a difference, because i know when you launch it when opening a file it takes a while compared to most applications, i'd try disabling it just to cancel it out because you can always re-enable it if it doesnt make any difference
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:29 PM
SJC SJC is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
ok i'll try disabling it. Do you have any idea what the blank one is? It has no name or command which is odd...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:29 PM
steffkelly steffkelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows 8 Pro
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Also hit ctrl alt delete and select task manager when this is happening. hit the column that says cpu and note the process that takes up the most of your cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:31 PM
steffkelly steffkelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows 8 Pro
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 220
actually i just had a look at my own settings and realise that i have 2 blank ones and also the adobe speed launch entry (never noticed them before) try the task manager
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 19th, 2006, 02:42 PM
black mirror black mirror is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: In the African bush studying the wildlife
Posts: 8,240
you can try cccleaner from here...
CCleaner (Crap Cleaner) is a system optimization tool. It removes unused and temporary files from your system, allowing it to run faster and more efficiently, and giving you more hard-disk space. The application cleans traces left by Windows, Internet Explorer, and third-party applications (including Firefox).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 19th, 2006, 03:09 PM
SJC SJC is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
i ran CCleaner, it seemed to clean up a lot of rubbish on my computer which is good, i restarted and it didn't seem to speed that up too much though!
I ran Windows Task Manager:

System Idle Process says between 95 and 99 in the CPU column, but it fluctuates along with others which are IEXPLORE.EXE, taskmgr.exe, svchost.exe and realplay.exe which keep popping up with between 3-6.

It says there are 52 processes running.

Does it seem like something i might just have to live with?!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot time takes WAY too long Omnislash124 Windows XP 19 October 13th, 2006 03:45 PM
WELCOME screen takes way too long to load helpmeout Malware Removal 3 March 22nd, 2006 06:56 AM
Shutdown takes a long time lucky_indian Windows XP 3 January 15th, 2006 04:57 PM
xp shuting down takes long time suleman Windows XP 0 April 20th, 2005 05:23 PM
MSconfig takes too long too load kapitalk Windows 98 5 February 14th, 2001 08:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:09 PM.