Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 4th, 2004, 12:34 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
Unhappy Windows XP No Boot, Lunix No Boot, Windows 2k No Boot ***?

Hi...
Windows xp Professsional doesnt boot off my system here are the specs
566 celeron socket 370 (detects as Pentim II 600)
GA-6LA7 (Bios Version 1.4)
64Mb SD RAM PC100
10Gb HDD
40x CD Rom
2Mb PCI Video Card

The computer tries to load Windows XP but it freezes.
I tried to boot off the cd, it boots off the cd but after it loads the setup files and gets to "SETUP IS LOADING WINDOWS" the computer freezes. I tried loading Linux but it freezes after it loads the setup files. Also the same with Windows 2000. What could the problem be? Ive tried changing the DIP Switches to lower the speed of the cpu, it doesnt budge, its normally set at 8.5x, when i change it to anything else it stays at 600Mhz PII. What Is Wrong!!!???

The Computer Loads Windows 98 correctly and working good, i havent tried Windows ME, 95 or NT.

Can anyone out there help me???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 4th, 2004, 12:39 AM
porterska's Avatar
porterska porterska is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 171
Have you been able to use and run Win XP in the past on this same system?

I only ask because those are almost the bare minimum requirements for win xp.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 4th, 2004, 12:42 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
reply1

well it used to have 160 Mb ram on it, i took 96Mb off it, because i thought it could be a memory problem. I havent been able to Run XP off it ever.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 4th, 2004, 12:45 AM
porterska's Avatar
porterska porterska is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 171
160mb of ram is significantly better than 64mb, and I assume that is the problem.

Win 98 doesnt require as much ram, and win 2000 and xp require the same so that would be why win 98 runs but nothing else

good luck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 4th, 2004, 12:53 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
Exclamation again no work

i put back the 96mb ram to make it 160mb it windows xp still doesnt boot. the computer just stops responding
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 4th, 2004, 01:03 AM
porterska's Avatar
porterska porterska is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 171
what part of the start-up process does it quit

such as, the bios screen, the windows logo, the welcome screen etc...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 4th, 2004, 01:16 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
Exclamation

when it still had xp on it... i installed 98 to see if it worked...
windows xp got up to a menu asking if i wanted to load in safe mode, normal, off recent config etc. It froze after i selected one of the options. just went black
and when i tried to boot off the windows xp cd, it loaded the files necessary to run the windows xp setup(the blue screen wif the detup options) and when the bottom bar said "SETUP IS STARTING WONDOWS" or something like that, the computer froze at that screen(num-lock doesnt work and it wont do anything)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 27th, 2005, 09:52 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
O...kay.. no one helped
Stats have changed to
533 Celeron
320Mb ram
8GB hdd
8mb i740 Viod card same mb, GA-6LA7
Can anyone help? cant install XP, 2k... Linux worked but found it to be didgy, no offence to linux users and makers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 27th, 2005, 10:41 AM
Aurorus Aurorus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Lightbulb

What Linux are you running?

Also, how are you installing Win2K or WinXP? Do you have
enough disk space to run both Linux and XP????

One rule of thumb that has been with Linux ever since Win9x
came out, was to install windows first, cause it is such a baby
and spits the dummy when it finds another OS in the Master
Boot Record. So then you install Windows, then run your installation
of Linux. Since it is a fairly old machine, try to copy the setup
folder (on the WinXP CD its /i386 ) to the HD and run setup from
there. Remember to allow about (I know how heavily this has
been debated in Linux circles, ....)
twice as much swap space
as you have RAM.

Tell us the outcome of your work!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 27th, 2005, 11:03 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
currently running 98
Linux version was Xandros desktop version 2
I want to freshly isntall windows XP, but it gets errored when booting off the CD. It gets to the point where it says setup is loading windows, and freezes, right after it says its loading a keyboard related DLL file. This is before it asks where to install xp, befor agreements etc it doesnt even get to the first screen of the setup program
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 27th, 2005, 12:32 PM
Aurorus Aurorus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Try booting of the CD, and then starting the computer with only CD support
and then copying your /i386 folder to your HD. Then run setup from the HD.
The setup to run is to type the following commands:

Code:
C:\>cd \i386
C:\I386>winnt
(Assuming you copied the /i386 folder to C:\I386. Changing the Dir doesnt
do anything. Also rem to make sure that the Prompt for the installation
source in your setup points to the dir that I386 is in)

Try that, and see if it still freezes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Pavilion ze4600 laptop won't boot up into Windows xp. Only able to boot safe mode. Jeepsburg Windows XP 6 August 31st, 2008 11:49 PM
Windows 98SE will not boot (Dual boot system) bobtpcguy Windows 98 2 December 7th, 2006 07:13 PM
Windows XP Won't boot from Boot Device Menu John789 Windows XP 1 April 15th, 2006 02:39 PM
Windows XP Won't boot from Boot Device Menu John789 Windows XP 0 April 15th, 2006 04:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 AM.