Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 11th, 2006, 10:54 PM
rup7ure's Avatar
rup7ure rup7ure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
repair windows

I have always just completly reformated my hd. But this time i just want to repair windows which i have never done before. Can someone tell me how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 11th, 2006, 11:39 PM
Mike1's Avatar
Mike1 Mike1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 391
You should be able to put the Windows XP CD in and boot from it and select the 'Repair' option.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 11th, 2006, 11:53 PM
rup7ure's Avatar
rup7ure rup7ure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
i did that and then a screen pops up like in dos mode and it asks me where i want to fix it. and that confuses me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 11th, 2006, 11:57 PM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 68
Posts: 13,547
Howdy:

Sounds like you used the first "R" option which takes you to the Recovery Console..

Go past that and you will get another "R" for Repair option !!

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:17 AM
rup7ure's Avatar
rup7ure rup7ure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
that was the problem thanks....but now i have another problem. now that xp is reinstalled the colors are all messed up. The highest settings i can have is 800x600 and 4bit color. I have the monitor installed.
What should i do???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:18 AM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 68
Posts: 13,547
The monitor has nothing to do with it.. You need to install the drivers for your video/graphics card!!

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:30 AM
rup7ure's Avatar
rup7ure rup7ure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
i also did that
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:34 AM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 68
Posts: 13,547
Did you install the XP drivers?? Go into Device Manager and click on the "+" beside the graphics adaptor and tell me what it says..

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:56 AM
rup7ure's Avatar
rup7ure rup7ure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
there is no option for that. But i know i installed the driver from the cd.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 12th, 2006, 02:58 AM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 68
Posts: 13,547
Then what does it say as far as your video card is concerned??

The symptoms you are stating means the drivers have NOT been installed properly if at all!!

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 12th, 2006, 03:04 AM
rup7ure's Avatar
rup7ure rup7ure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
alright i fixed it. i just went the the nvidia site and downloaded the driver from there.
thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 12th, 2006, 03:50 AM
Murray S.'s Avatar
Murray S. Murray S. is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 68
Posts: 13,547
I thought you had installed the driver??

No problem !!

Murray
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 12th, 2006, 04:10 AM
Mike1's Avatar
Mike1 Mike1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 391
Always a good idea to go with the most recent drivers from the internet unless you have an older card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to automatically repair Windows Vista using Startup Repair sankit1144 Windows Vista 2 September 8th, 2017 09:11 PM
Cannot boot windows - Startup repair cannot repair this computer automatically....jxl johnluk Windows 7 1 July 30th, 2016 05:00 PM
Windows 7 Repair wblack Windows 7 15 January 19th, 2013 12:54 AM
Repair Windows XP Panky Windows XP 3 January 19th, 2008 08:07 PM
I Need Help To Repair Windows! dan mills Windows XP 3 November 24th, 2006 12:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15 AM.