Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #31  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 05:29 AM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
k will go for a new comp..in that case,will the onboard graphics i specified be decent enough to offer good framerates withour hitches in the games to be released in future....

and also do suggest me a pci-e graphics card in the 180USD range pls..
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 08:37 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
not on best graphics options for the onboard graphics

i think the 6800 for PCI Express should be in that price range
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 08:55 AM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
k ..will check it up....thanks..

but when i go in for a graphics card lets say the geforce 6800 it comes with GDDR3 SD RAM...

what does this mean.. and is it necessary that i got to get a mainboard that supports DDR2 RAM???i guess not...
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 09:00 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
all AMD Socket 939s are DDR 1 compatible only

only Socket AM2 support DDR2

no shouldnt matter
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 01:27 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
No matter which onboard graphics a motherboard has, it will never be enough to play Oblivion or other high end graphics games.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 01:30 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
i agree
A plug in Graphics card should alwas be better, you must note the model numbers though
eg
a TNT2 vs an onboard Geforce6100
or a Geforce 2MX400 vs onboard Geforce 6100

the geforce 6100 should beat both of em

also remember that a video card should not be judged on how much memory it has

Eg a 6200 256Mb against a 6800 128Mb, the 6800 should win

Last edited by cHiNgY1788; July 2nd, 2006 at 01:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 04:58 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
yep..that makes things very clear....
but sometimes ppl say going for the 6200 128mb(leave alone the 6200...took it jus as an example) may prove better than going for the 256 or the 512mb counterpart of it...by shelling out more money...sometimes doesnt help things really...
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 06:41 PM
Amakusa07 Amakusa07 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
" as such whereever u feel like...budjet 25k"


25k....:o


Probably meant to put a point in between, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old July 3rd, 2006, 12:16 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
25k HKD? -> 4-5k AUD -> 3-4k USD
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old July 3rd, 2006, 03:53 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
no i was refering to the indian money...anyways thats 500 USD
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old July 3rd, 2006, 04:03 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
k..now that i cant find any graphics card within my budget of 180$ or neither can go for the 6800 ...think i will settle down with the 256 MB 6600 itself..but

1.what are the different models i heard such as GT XT etc etc..which one shall i opt for considering a.the performance and b.the price?

2.which brand shall i go for gainward,xfx,pine etc??

3.now that im opting for a high-end graphics card(hope it is one..,shall i relax my budget down on someother mobo which is cheaper since i dont need the onboard geforce6 in the ASUS A8N VM/CSM which will be overriden (i guesss?) by the pci-e 6600? or will the onboard grapchics also prove someworth when combined with the 6600..?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old July 5th, 2006, 06:25 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
hey guys why no reply....no one got any idea for my questions is it????
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old July 5th, 2006, 06:31 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
k guys actually i had decided on the Geforce 6600GT 128MB for 6950rs/-...but then now it seems the 7600 is available for 7900 rs/-..shall i go fot it then... moreover my vendor says gainward,xfx r not available here in chennai..he recommends a brand named "BIGBYTE" i searched thro the site though i wud require some experts advice in this regard.....
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old July 5th, 2006, 06:33 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
also need to clarify whether the board v were talking abt ASUS A8N/VM-CSM http://in.asus.com/products4.aspx?mo...3&l2=15&l3=210 supports how many devices to be connected..
now i got a combo drive,dvd-writer,160GB HDD.can i add 1 more 40GB HDD and a cd-rom drive.... im not able to guess it from the specs page of this board..
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old July 5th, 2006, 07:43 PM
Manc's Avatar
Manc Manc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by photolady
No matter which onboard graphics a motherboard has, it will never be enough to play Oblivion or other high end graphics games.
Onboard anything never seems as good as a dedicated piece of hardware to do the same job.

And on the vid card, get the 7600 out of those two you mentioned.

Never heard of 'BIGBYTE', so wouldn't trust them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
system upgrade fsteyer Hardware 2 August 1st, 2007 09:28 PM
AMD 64 X2 upgrade system not turning on mcj0422 Hardware 4 October 11th, 2006 04:29 PM
video card upgrade without power supply upgrade??? pbaiocco Hardware 13 September 4th, 2006 07:39 PM
System Upgrade Jcooper Hardware 4 March 3rd, 2006 01:55 AM
System won't start after pretty big upgrade StoaVio Hardware 9 April 21st, 2004 05:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55 PM.