Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old May 15th, 2006, 08:18 PM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amberyl
Seth....
I ran the Memtest and it got 68% done and came up with the following....

TST 6
Pass 0
Failing Address 0000069C390 - 6.7MB
Good 7fffffff
Bad 7ffffdff
Err-Bits 00000200
Count 1
Chan -

??????

Event viewers is too long to post....can I email it?
I wouldn't worry about Event Viewer, because it looks like the lock ups are being caused by a bad memory stick.

1) If you have one memory stick, then take it out and carefully put it back in. Test system.

2) If you have two sticks, then test the system with each one, one at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 15th, 2006, 09:14 PM
Amberyl Amberyl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Guess what....I followed someone's advice at another forum and removed ram and switched and everything was fine with 1 256 ram.....placed one in the second slot and bammmm.....nothing....no computer system....nothing....then I went and put one 256 in the first slot and one in the third slot and lo and behold....I am operational again......at least with Sims.....

I will test Empire Earth with hubby tonight and see what happens....fingers are crossed that everything is ok.....

Thanks for all the wonderful help.....

Amberyl
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 15th, 2006, 09:56 PM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amberyl
Guess what....I followed someone's advice at another forum and removed ram and switched and everything was fine with 1 256 ram.....placed one in the second slot and bammmm.....nothing....no computer system....nothing....then I went and put one 256 in the first slot and one in the third slot and lo and behold....I am operational again......at least with Sims.....

I will test Empire Earth with hubby tonight and see what happens....fingers are crossed that everything is ok.....

Thanks for all the wonderful help.
You're welcome

I'm not sure why you went to another forum, as I suspected bad ram and indicated such in my first post to you. That's why I got you to run the memory test. I was just waiting for your response on the results of that test.

So anyway, we now know that you have a bad ram stick or bad memory slot. Play around with the sequence, and post back if you need further assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 16th, 2006, 01:36 AM
Amberyl Amberyl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SC
Posts: 12
It looks like my 5 year old motherboard is going on me....but I really appreciate the help....Right now I have 1 stick in it at 256 meg....

Amberyl

PS the other site was mainly for Sim2 Tech help......
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 16th, 2006, 01:54 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
So everything's ok as long as you don't have a memory stick in slot #2?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking a Sledghammer lostone6690 Gaming 1 November 29th, 2023 08:55 PM
Desperately Seeking Help LoppyThug Windows Vista 6 February 14th, 2008 05:53 AM
seeking knowledge Geoff Collier Windows Vista 3 September 15th, 2007 03:06 AM
Desperately seeking help :( WinT Windows 98 31 July 6th, 2006 07:12 PM
Desperately seeking help.... DoubleShimmer Malware Removal 1 April 12th, 2006 07:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:18 AM.