Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Internet / Browsers Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Internet and Browser issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 31st, 2006, 09:46 PM
mmuhs mmuhs is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 4
Question Cannot connect to DSL with new laptop

Hi all. I'm trying to connect my new laptop to my DSL. My DSL is not wireless, I am hardwired into a router. Connections work fine on the other two computers in the house, but not on the new one.

I've disconnected the wireless signal from the computer so that it would stop trying to connect through that (I don't have wireless DSL). When going to network connections, it tells me the local area connection is connected at 100. bps. I've attempted to repair that connection. It tells me DNS can't be refreshed. I've also tried to do this manually after searching some sites to find this problem/solution. Also attempted to figure it out with the head guy @ the ISP.

Could really use some more input & a fix. The only thing I've done to this computer is to remove many of the options it comes with as far as using the internet goes. Such as AOL, because where we are located it's not possible to use them, must go through local ISP.

HELP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 31st, 2006, 11:59 PM
Miz's Avatar
Miz Miz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Kansas
Age: 78
Posts: 12,129
If the router and modem are separate components, plug the problem computer's cable into one of the ports being using by one of the computers that isn't having any trouble connecting.

If that fixes it, either the problem computer was plugged into the port directly next to the one the DSL modem is plugged into (which is disabled as soon as the modem is connected) or the port it was plugged into has gone bad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 1st, 2006, 12:45 AM
mmuhs mmuhs is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 4
I have taken the cable that I normally use to hook up to my DSL off my old computer. They are both laptops & I have them side by side right now. I can hook onto the internet on the old one. But when I disconnect it from the old and connect to the new one, I am not able to - which would mean it's something in the computer itself, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 1st, 2006, 02:19 AM
Miz's Avatar
Miz Miz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Kansas
Age: 78
Posts: 12,129
If the new computer was running when you plugged the cable in, reboot it. That will hopefully establish communication with the router which 98 finds virtually impossible and XP can have trouble with if you try to do a "repair" or "refresh" when Windows is running.

You can also run ipconfig once it's plugged in to see what IP it is (or is not) picking up from the router.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how can i connect my laptop to T.V? soso Applications 8 August 27th, 2008 02:46 PM
laptop can't connect mikezw Networking 2 April 24th, 2007 07:10 AM
Laptop won't connect Volkhart Networking 3 March 14th, 2007 10:05 PM
Laptop won't connect outside! AgentBauer Networking 3 April 29th, 2006 02:01 PM
Cannot connect to email on laptop jeb52 Internet / Browsers 4 February 15th, 2005 10:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:26 PM.