Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Internet / Browsers Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Internet and Browser issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old December 23rd, 2005, 02:30 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
MS Knowledge Base

Is it just me, or is anybody else having major layout issues when viewing KB articles with Firefox, with the content cut off midway by the footer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 23rd, 2005, 02:39 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,685
I don't have that problem. Is it all of them or specific ones? If not all of them, post a link to the problem one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 23rd, 2005, 07:51 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
All of them. And only KB articles. It also seems to be random: each time I refresh the same page, a different amount will be cutoff, occasionally it will be normal, but usually it cuts off at the bottom of the right-side content. I also checked the page source each time: all the source is definitely there, it's just not being displayed.
Here's a snapshot with a random article:

Last edited by oracle128; December 23rd, 2005 at 07:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 23rd, 2005, 08:04 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
Here's another shot, this time showing what consistantly happens when there's code boxes involved:

As you can see, the code boxes (which seem to have a higher Z-order than everything else) are displayed correctly (but on top of the footer). The window scrolls as far as the content should be, yet only the code boxes are displayed, the text/links between and after them (beyond the footer) are not. Note that that exact page loaded fine minutes ago, and has loaded fine since then, again showing the problem to be random.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 23rd, 2005, 09:28 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,685
I went to the specific pages myself and did not have any problems and tried it on two different computers with windows firefox and one with linux firefox. I honestly don't know except to try clearing firefox cache.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 24th, 2005, 02:27 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Yes I have been having this problem intermittently too oracle but it seems ok atm. What version of Firefox are you using Dan? I'm using v1.0.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 24th, 2005, 05:51 AM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
Thanks AM, good to see I'm not crazy
I'm using FF 1.5 though. My guess is either Firefox's implementation of CSS is failing with something MS uses (I'm assuming they use it, I haven't actually looked), or MS has coded it to be specific to IE and FF doesn't know what to do; though the fact that it's random if and where it cuts off seems strange to me. Of course I can work around it by reloading the page until it's right, or (*gasp*) viewing it in IE.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 24th, 2005, 08:59 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,685
I am using the latest 1.5;
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 24th, 2005, 10:07 AM
rockboy's Avatar
rockboy rockboy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: California, USA
Posts: 3,087
I'm using Firefox v1.5 with no problems. Clicked thru several pages including your problem page and all worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 24th, 2005, 10:21 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,685
I went over the bug reports for firefox on this and it looks like someone else reported something similar as a bug. see this
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old December 24th, 2005, 02:32 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
Thanks for the bugzilla link renegade, I've added my comments to the report so hopefully it will get fixed with the next release.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 25th, 2005, 03:50 AM
The Dude's Avatar
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,446
It could be your resolution settings also.......

If you have a smaller setting,it sometimes tries to fit the page correctly in the space you have selected (Which could cause these issues)\

It loads fine for me with MyIE2!!

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 25th, 2005, 01:32 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
It probably could be worked around with a resolution change, unfortunately, using a widescreen (16:10) laptop, I'm pretty much limited to the native resolution, 1280x800. I could deal with reloading the page when needed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 27th, 2005, 05:10 AM
The Dude's Avatar
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,446
Hmmmm,YES,that may be a problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
seeking knowledge Geoff Collier Windows Vista 3 September 15th, 2007 03:06 AM
Test your U.S. Map Knowledge! The Dude Open Discussion 7 January 29th, 2007 04:13 AM
Microsoft Knowledge Base Article-841559 rodger2 Windows XP 3 July 13th, 2004 11:07 AM
knowledge eliotmc Windows XP 3 June 29th, 2003 02:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:11 AM.