Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Networking

Notices

Networking Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Networking, router, and Wi-Fi issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old September 6th, 2015, 06:35 AM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
Looks good. How often is it timing out now?

Please reinstall the network driver.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 6th, 2015, 07:30 AM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
it does it quite often.

how do I reinstall the network driver?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 7th, 2015, 06:46 AM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
I will move this thread into the specific area, the guys over there can help you with this
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 12th, 2015, 01:23 AM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
I haven't had anymore help since this thread was moved.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 12th, 2015, 02:44 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,538
Hi there blue_70517. I have renamed the topic to hopefully attract more attention (some may have been put off by the malware assumption).

Do you have more than one computer connected to the internet and this is the only one suffering the drop outs?

How often does it seem to happen?

If you run a continuous ping*, do you see timeouts when your other activity stalls?

*Start>run>cmd
Type ping www.google.com -t
To interrupt/end, press CTRL+C.
You should see something like this:
Code:
Pinging www.google.com [203.97.26.42] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.42: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61

Ping statistics for 203.97.26.42:
    Packets: Sent = 12, Received = 12, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 38ms, Maximum = 96ms, Average = 46ms

Last edited by smurfy; September 12th, 2015 at 02:45 AM. Reason: minor
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old September 12th, 2015, 03:41 AM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
it used to do it a lot.

I only have this computer.

I downloaded some drivers and it seemed to help until last night.

it started timing out again. I have to wait for it to load again.

this is what the ping said...

http://s24.postimg.org/3miudmenp/Untitled.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old September 12th, 2015, 03:41 AM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
http://s24.postimg.org/3miudmenp/Untitled.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old September 12th, 2015, 04:19 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,538
So, when your browser (chrome?) was timing out, that screenshot was the ping result at that time, or was that from when you were browsing fine?

How long does the drop out normally last? What do you normally do to get it going again, just wait it out, restart the computer, reset your cable modem?

Looking back through all the logs and diagnostics, there are a couple of software processes that could be having a minor intermittent impact on your network, but nothing that I would expect to completely kill browsing even momentarily.

There are also a few there that I would normally recommend you disable from running in the background all the time - they don't need to run unless you start up their main program and they will be slowing down the overall performance of the PC, but again, nothing that would be causing drop-outs.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old September 12th, 2015, 04:26 AM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
the ping was when it was working.

when it did it tonight, I walked away for a few minutes and it started working again. it hasn't timed out again since.

when it was really bad, i had to restart the modem and computer.

sometimes I'd be online for maybe just 2 minutes and it would already time out.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old September 12th, 2015, 04:40 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,538
OK, can you leave the continuous ping running in the background until you get another drop-out?
Hopefully you'll see something like this:
Code:
Pinging www.google.com [203.97.26.59] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
PING: transmit failed. General failure.
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=61
Reply from 203.97.26.59: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=61

Ping statistics for 203.97.26.59:
    Packets: Sent = 36, Received = 28, Lost = 8 (22% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 38ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 39ms
Have you ever tried another browser (e.g. Firefox/Internet Explorer) or another internet application e.g. e-mail, skype, standalone chat client, online (not web-browser based) gaming when Chrome is not working?

What sort of internet connection do you have, Fibre, Cable, VDSL, ADSL? Is your PC connected via wi-fi or ethernet (wired) to the modem?
We may need to check some settings on your modem since we cannot test using another PC.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old September 13th, 2015, 04:39 AM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
this is what pinged out when it wasn't working last night.

http://s17.postimg.org/xs4kcdqqn/Untitled.jpg

I have a cable connection.

it's wired to the modem. The modem is a 2 in 1 modem plus router
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old September 13th, 2015, 07:54 PM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
I pinged it out this afternoon and it actually did time out

http://s21.postimg.org/k8v9eqhh3/Untitled.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old September 15th, 2015, 02:01 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,538
OK, that's useful. It tells me that dropout was only for a matter of seconds, however we're no closer to identifying the source of the dropout. How long did it take for Chrome to work again when that happened?

I think Murf uses Cox cable so he may have some idea of what logging their cable modems provide. I'll ask him to step in here.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old September 15th, 2015, 04:29 PM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
it timed out again last night.

It's actually gotten worse. I can only go online for a few minutes before it times out.

I can get online in bursts. it stops then starts again after a long time....then stops again

a few nights ago, I downloaded some networking drivers to try to update everything on my computer.

after I did that, it worked fine for about 2 days before timing out again.

Maybe I need to update all of my drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old September 15th, 2015, 04:30 PM
blue_70517 blue_70517 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 450
oh, and my boyfriend tried the wi fi on his phone and said there's no problem. I'm thinking something's wrong with my computer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox stop responding & computer freezing-Moved from malware by schrauber perplexed Windows Vista 42 July 8th, 2019 01:27 AM
Firefox stop responding computer freezing Moved from malware by schrauber Soaddyrara Malware Removal 1 September 20th, 2017 05:53 PM
Vrodrigu13 C.exe - moved by schrauber Vrodrigu13 Malware Removal 32 January 11th, 2010 07:17 PM
punkydiamond - moved by schrauber punkydiamond Malware Removal 1 January 8th, 2010 06:43 PM
-=BULLETPROOF=- C.EXE - moved by schrauber -=BULLETPROOF=- Malware Removal 23 January 5th, 2010 09:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13 PM.