Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Networking

Notices

Networking Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Networking, router, and Wi-Fi issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 6th, 2023, 11:06 AM
pulsar101's Avatar
pulsar101 pulsar101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 74
Ethernet not working on only one device at a time

I have a smart Tv plugged into ethernet and a computer. Randomly lately but fairly often one of them will say it can't connect to the router at all. And will not work until the router is reset the other one will be working fine at this time usually but sometimes both done. The wifi is working this whole time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 6th, 2023, 05:50 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,675
what router model? how old is it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 7th, 2023, 05:09 AM
pulsar101's Avatar
pulsar101 pulsar101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 74
RT-AC68U couple of years
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 7th, 2023, 11:07 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,675
does your modem have multi ports? if so, for testing purposes, move the cables to it and see if you still have that problem. Also go into the router settings and make sure it has all the latest updates. The router model had been around for years around 10 years so there could be some updates, unless you have been keeping it updated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 9th, 2023, 04:54 AM
pulsar101's Avatar
pulsar101 pulsar101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade600 View Post
does your modem have multi ports? if so, for testing purposes, move the cables to it and see if you still have that problem. Also go into the router settings and make sure it has all the latest updates. The router model had been around for years around 10 years so there could be some updates, unless you have been keeping it updated.
I did the update. So far it hasn't done it again and it's been over a day. 🤞
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 10th, 2023, 03:06 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,675
sounds good :-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 10th, 2023, 03:14 AM
pulsar101's Avatar
pulsar101 pulsar101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 74
Sadly it came back today. I moved on to test the other ports but so far no luck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 10th, 2023, 04:04 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,675
if you are plugging into the modem bypassing the router and you are still having problems, you may need to contact the cable company and have them check your modem and lines to your house.

a couple other thoughts, are you using a splitter in the cable line anywhere between the outside to the modem? If so, they can go bad. What about the cable/ethernet wiring, are they old too? Maybe it is time to check their connections and maybe even replace them.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 10th, 2023, 07:36 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 956
Hmmm............

The TR-AC68U has the built-in DSL/Cable modem with a 4 port LAN Router and WIFI.

Are you using the built-in Modem?

Have you had any Thunderstorms in the passed few weeks in your area?

If none of the things renegade600 suggested, resolves the problem.
Go ahead and replace the TR-AC68U.

Indirect lightning strikes can play havoc with DSL/Cable systems.
And even though your TR-AC68U seems to be working after the the storms have passed.
Internal components in the Modem/Router are no longer performing at they're optimal best.
Thus, you'll see intermittent connections to your Modem/Router.

I have found no good way to protect a modem/router, during a Thunderstorm.
Except disconnecting the cable going into it, and the power to it.

You can get Surge/Lightning Protectors to stick on the cable, before going into the Modem/Router.
Sometimes when the Surge/Lightning Protector gets blown up, the equipment behind it is saved.
But, I'm seeing more over, that unless you got a business grade Surge/Lightning Protector.
You will suffer some kind of damage to your equipment.




Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:31 PM.