Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 3rd, 2005, 11:03 PM
chaos's Avatar
chaos chaos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 204
Couple Questions

I just Installed Slackware 10, and have a few problems:
When I choose to open "home" it opens in Konquer, I am using Gnome.
I have no audio at all.
How do I get my scroll wheel on my mouse to work, and
Can I install the drivers for my video card on linux like I do in windows, I want to get a 1 step higher resolution, I have 1024x768
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 4th, 2005, 04:40 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,538
Slack is one distro I haven't tried yet so...
Quote:
When I choose to open "home" it opens in Konquer, I am using Gnome.
What do you want to use, Nautilis?
Quote:
I have no audio at all.
What sort of soundcard?
Quote:
How do I get my scroll wheel on my mouse to work, and
What sort of mouse?
Quote:
Can I install the drivers for my video card on linux like I do in windows, I want to get a 1 step higher resolution, I have 1024x768
What sort of Vid card - if it's an nVidia card, get the Nvidia driver installer from nVidia.com. Otherwise you could be SOL as most vendors do not yet support Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 4th, 2005, 05:48 AM
chaos's Avatar
chaos chaos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 204
I am using a wireless microsoft mouse, the sounds working, the video card is raedon 7500, and why would gnome use konquerer at all?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 4th, 2005, 06:01 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,538
I'm guessing Gnome would default to Konqueror if you didn't install Nautilus in the package selection during setup (if it's an option in Slack setup which I would have to assume it is).

Slackware10 has switched to XOrg (from Xfree86) as it's X server.
From a console, run xorgconfig as root, this should enable you to define your mouse properly and hopefully fix your video driver and resolution issue (assuming your monitor actually supports higher resolutions).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 11th, 2005, 02:43 AM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 50
Posts: 4,561
scroll wheel zaxismapping 4 5
higher resolutoin is /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 (or XF86Config) ... or in slack10 it would be XOrgconfig
no audio.... eek lol i ahte linux audio but usually its chmod 666 /dev/snd* /dev/sound /dev/dsp*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couple of questions PurestLight Windows 7 39 October 24th, 2009 11:22 PM
A couple questions Bradte20 Networking 3 February 9th, 2006 10:18 PM
A couple of questions. r3drabbit Windows 98 2 January 22nd, 2006 06:24 PM
couple of questions cray159 Windows XP 3 September 20th, 2003 06:45 PM
A couple of Questions FrostyPhrog Hardware 6 June 3rd, 2001 02:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:31 PM.