Cyber Tech Help Support Forums

Cyber Tech Help Support Forums (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/index.php)
-   Linux (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Reordering Grub preferences (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/showthread.php?t=233415)

Total Noob January 18th, 2019 03:17 PM

Reordering Grub preferences

I have a compaq presario desktop preloaded with Win7 to which I later added Linux Mint. I believe it has an i3 processor.

Grub defaults to Linux after about 10 seconds after it appears, which means I have to stand by during the initial booting phase and play around with arrows on a hard wired keyboard to get Windows to load. I'd like it to default to Windows so I can turn the computer on and walk away.

What is the procedure for changing the default setting?

Ned Seagoon January 26th, 2019 09:39 PM

You need to edit GRUB
Take a look at https://www.pcsteps.com/1053-change-...x-mint-ubuntu/

Total Noob February 1st, 2019 09:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ned Seagoon (Post 1304525)
You need to edit GRUB
Take a look at https://www.pcsteps.com/1053-change-...x-mint-ubuntu/

Thanks for the old college try, but this won't work for me.

I mentioned I wanted my computer to default to Win, but did not say why. Now I do.

It is because Linux Mint does not have a driver for my replacement wifi dongle (the old one fried). I've looked high and low for one, and what seemed like the sole available workaround posted to the Mint forums would take about 6 hours of keyboard work, a programming skill set and typing accuracy about 4 grades above my payscale, and quite frankly, some amount of good luck as it was not an approved solution.

So now I came to the above suggestion so I can avoid Mint, and lo and behold it requires being on line to get the right software, which is a no can do unless I start moving furniture and junk to get hard wire access to the router, and that is just not worth it.