Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 27th, 2020, 08:34 AM
danasegarane danasegarane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
PCI Card Issue

Hi Team,

I recently I bought a graphics to extend my monitor as dual monitor. Recently I bought this from amazon

When I plugin into the PCI card it is not detecting the graphics.

Any way to check the card/PCI slot is working not.

I am using I3 3220 and this the model of the board
Code:
DMI Baseboard	
     vendor	Intel Corporation
     model	DH61WW
     revision	AAG23116-303
When I ran the CPU Z , it is showing this result.

Code:
Display Adapters	 
Display adapter 0	
     ID	0x4000000
     Name	Intel(R) HD Graphics
     Board Manufacturer	Intel Corporation
     PCI device	bus 0 (0x0), device 2 (0x2), function 0 (0x0)
     Vendor ID	0x8086 (0x8086)
     Model ID	0x0152 (0x2017)
     Revision ID	0x9
     Performance Level	0
 	 
Win32_VideoController	AdapterRAM = 0x82E2B800 (2195896320)
Win32_VideoController	DriverVersion = 10.18.10.4252
Win32_VideoController	DriverDate = 07/10/2015
Any help?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old May 27th, 2020, 06:20 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
Is this your Motherboard?

I assume that you plugged the video card into the Blue PCI-Express Socket?

This Motherboard may not support Dual Monitors.

Go in to your BIO's CMO's settings, and see if it has a Disable or Enable on board graphics.
Some will automatically detect the PCI-Express Video Card that is plugged in, and shut off the on board video.
But, it won't allow you to do both.




Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 28th, 2020, 07:41 AM
danasegarane danasegarane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensign Tzap View Post
Is this your Motherboard?

I assume that you plugged the video card into the Blue PCI-Express Socket?

This Motherboard may not support Dual Monitors.

Go in to your BIO's CMO's settings, and see if it has a Disable or Enable on board graphics.
Some will automatically detect the PCI-Express Video Card that is plugged in, and shut off the on board video.
But, it won't allow you to do both.




Signed: Ensign Tzap


Yes. This is my mother board. I tried the settings all of them are enabled and it is not detecting the graphics card.

I wonder what is the use of PCI Card here.

Any other way to duplicate the monitor. I wish to run different programs in each monitor.

This motherboard does not have any dvi port aswell. This has only VGA port , 1 LS Port, 6 USB Ports.

Thanks in Advance
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 28th, 2020, 03:53 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
Okay,
Let's try this.....

1) Remove the Video Card.

2) Connect Monitor to Onboard Video Port (VGA).

3) Restart computer, go in to the CMO's BIO's.

4) In the Settings, Disable the Onboard Video.

5) Save the Settings, and shut down the computer.

6) Plug the Video Card back in, and connect the Monitor to it.

7) Start up the computer.

If you get video, then this is possibly one of those boards that won't do Dual Monitors, as I said.

One more thing you can try......

If the Video Card is working, with the Onboard Video Disabled.

1) Power down the computer.

2) Connect up a second Monitor to the Onboard Video (VGA) Port.

3) Power up the computer, go in to the CMO's BIO's.

4) In the Settings, Enable the Onboard Video.

5) Save the Settings, and Restart the computer.

If you now have both Monitors working, great.
Otherwise, you'll need to get a different Motherboard.


Signed: Ensign Tzap

Last edited by Ensign Tzap; May 28th, 2020 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 28th, 2020, 04:20 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,472
Whoa! Back up a second! Let's make sure we are not making a HUGE mistake.

That Zotac graphics card is a PCIe (PCI Express card, also seen as PCI-E). It is NOT a PCI card!!!

Despite their similar names, PCI and PCIe are not the same and more importantly are NOT compatible, and should never be confused.

I am assuming you did not put that PCIe card in a PCI slot because the slots are not physically compatible either. BUT I have seen where some users have tried to force cards in the wrong slot with destructive physical damage to both card and slot occurring. So I'm just making sure all are on the same page with the same terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 29th, 2020, 12:55 AM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
I understand Digerati concern.


Because your Motherboard has three types of PCI Expansion Bus Slots.


The 1st is the old PCI.



The 2nd is the newer PCI Express 16 slot.{The Blue Slot on your Motherboard.}


Which is used mostly just for Video Cards.


And the newest one.
PCI Express 1 slot.

Which is used with differing types of expansion bus cards.
Example:{USB expansion card, Parallel Port Card, Serial Port Card, and some Video Cards}.


The Zotac Graphics Card is a PCI Express 16.
Soit will only fit into thePCI Express 16 slot.{The Blue Slot on your Motherboard.}


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 29th, 2020, 03:42 AM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
Addition: I see that the Zotac Graphics Card has 3 outputs.

VGA, DVI, and HDMI.

I would check if you can connect up multiple monitors to it.

That is....
If your Motherboard only gives you the option of using only the onboard Video,
or the PCI-Express slot with Video Card inserted, one at a time.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 29th, 2020, 10:09 AM
danasegarane danasegarane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensign Tzap View Post
Addition: I see that the Zotac Graphics Card has 3 outputs.

VGA, DVI, and HDMI.

I would check if you can connect up multiple monitors to it.

That is....
If your Motherboard only gives you the option of using only the onboard Video,
or the PCI-Express slot with Video Card inserted, one at a time.


Signed: Ensign Tzap



Thanks for your support.

When I disabled to the onboard graphics card then there is no display on the extended graphic card. I was getting a beep support as I have enabled to beep if no Graphics card is found.

Again I have to reset the jumber to get back the vga is working.


1. Any other way to get the monitor duplicated like vga spliter
2. Or Can I you suggest a mother board for the Processor I have.


Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 29th, 2020, 10:10 AM
danasegarane danasegarane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
Whoa! Back up a second! Let's make sure we are not making a HUGE mistake.

That Zotac graphics card is a PCIe (PCI Express card, also seen as PCI-E). It is NOT a PCI card!!!

Despite their similar names, PCI and PCIe are not the same and more importantly are NOT compatible, and should never be confused.

I am assuming you did not put that PCIe card in a PCI slot because the slots are not physically compatible either. BUT I have seen where some users have tried to force cards in the wrong slot with destructive physical damage to both card and slot occurring. So I'm just making sure all are on the same page with the same terminology.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 29th, 2020, 09:16 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
I found this Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qfXMk4InRY
That will help you out better than I can try to type out.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 2nd, 2020, 08:15 AM
danasegarane danasegarane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensign Tzap View Post
I found this Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qfXMk4InRY
That will help you out better than I can try to type out.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Thanks, Tried this one as well. But not working
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 2nd, 2020, 04:17 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
Here is a PDF Manual of your Motherboard.
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/su...ProdSpec06.pdf

Go to page 60 of the manual.
Start reading about the CMO's Jumper Settings.

For changes in the settings in the CMO's configuration to take effect.
You have to move the jumper first to pins 2-3.
Make your changes to the settings, save them, then return the Jumper back to pins 1-2.

If this fails to get the Zotac PCI-Express X16 graphics card recognized.
Return the video card.
Then try a different PCI-Express X16 graphics card.

{It is rare, but you sometimes come across compatibility issues with some video cards.}


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 3rd, 2020, 02:42 PM
danasegarane danasegarane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensign Tzap View Post
Here is a PDF Manual of your Motherboard.
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/su...ProdSpec06.pdf

Go to page 60 of the manual.
Start reading about the CMO's Jumper Settings.

For changes in the settings in the CMO's configuration to take effect.
You have to move the jumper first to pins 2-3.
Make your changes to the settings, save them, then return the Jumper back to pins 1-2.

If this fails to get the Zotac PCI-Express X16 graphics card recognized.
Return the video card.
Then try a different PCI-Express X16 graphics card.

{It is rare, but you sometimes come across compatibility issues with some video cards.}


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Thanks. Tried and this is also not working. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 5th, 2020, 03:41 AM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
Sorry, Editor is acting very flaky.








Signed: Ensign Tzap

Last edited by Ensign Tzap; June 5th, 2020 at 03:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 5th, 2020, 03:44 AM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 839
Hmmm...........


Look in the Manual on Page 64.
Quote:
3.6.3 Booting Without Attached Devices

For use in embedded applications, the BIOS has been designed so that after passing the POST, the operating system loader is invoked even if the following devices are not present:
Video adapter
Keyboard

Mouse


3.6.4 Changing the Default Boot Device During POST
Pressing the <F10> key during POST causes a boot device menu to be displayed.
This menu displays the list of available boot devices.
Table 33 lists the boot device menu options.


Table 33.
Boot Device Menu Options

Boot Device Menu Function Keys Description
<> or <> Selects a default boot device
<Enter>Exits the menu, and boots from the selected device

<Esc>Exits the menu and boots according to the boot priority defined through BIOS setup



Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58 PM.