Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2020, 07:34 PM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Dell XPS 8700 Memory Upgrade

Hey Guys - Trying to upgrade the subject machine. So I bought 2 sets of these: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Intel 100/9/8/7/6 Series Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C9D-16GXLL.

After installation, the computer beeps twice.....pause, beeps twice.....pause and won't boot, screens won't come on or anything.

I've tried to remove and reinstall the memory twice with the same luck; second time I unplugged everything from the computer, same thing. I even tried to put the old memory back in with the same results.

I thought it would be a simple matter, take the old ones out and put the new ones in? I see two beeps means no ram detected.... am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old February 1st, 2020, 09:55 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,201
Your computer takes:

DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3-12800) CL11

PC3 is standard voltage (1.50V) where PC3L is low voltage (1.35V) - A system which requires PC3L cannot support PC3 RAM. PC3L RAM will work in a PC3 based system as it will run at the standard voltage and will inter-operate with PC3 RAM within the system.

computer beeps twice.....pause, beeps twice.....pause and won't boot,

2 beeps means no ram detected. Make sure they are seated properly.

Just install one and see if it boots, then add another...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 2nd, 2020, 01:47 AM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Hey Murf, thanks. I thought I understood Crucial to say the 1.35V was recommended? If I should send them back to get the 1.5V, please let me know.

After I posted, that's what my son told me; I even went further to see if each one would initiate boot individually and they didn't. Now I have the original sticks in and it still won't boot.

The original sticks were in slots 2 and 4. Tried each pair in there, same results.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 2nd, 2020, 02:24 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,201
If it does not boot with the original sticks then something else is wrong, maybe accidentally loosened a connection. With the original sticks do you get beeps? Does the power supply stay running? Have a video card? If so make sure it is seated.

Try slot 1 3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2020, 02:29 AM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
I didn't say before I installed the new sticks that I blew the machine out, maybe I did loosen something. I do get the same beeps with old sticks, haven't tried 1 & 3 yet I don't think. I'll check the video card. Also the power button beeps steadily amber..... read where that might say something?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 2nd, 2020, 06:43 PM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Tried 1&3, still the same. Checked all connections, everything seems fine. It just keeps cycling on and off and keeps beeping
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 2nd, 2020, 08:41 PM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Murf..... ohhhh maaaan I feel like such an idiot! I wasn't seating the sticks all the way. I am really sorry to tie you up on this one, dumb, dumb, dumb.

Really appreciate you trying to help!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 3rd, 2020, 04:41 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,201
Glad you figured it out. I have done that, it happens.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 8th, 2020, 01:11 AM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 798
Hey wblack,

Sorry for this late reply, I've had more troubling things to deal with.
But, I'm glad that you found the problem.

Only, I looked at a picture of your Motherboard, and I see why you had such a tough time with it.

The way the Memory Slots are on the Motherboard, there is no support under them when you insert the memory sticks.
This will cause the Motherboard to flex, and not make good contact in the Memory Slot.

This is a simple design flaw with a lot of Motherboards, in that if you look at how the computer was assembled at the factory.
The Memory Sticks are installed in to the Motherboard on a flat surface,
as well as the Processor and Heatsink/Fan, before it is mounted in to the case.

Too stop the Motherboard from flexing.
Place a Plastic Stand-Off under the section of the PCB with the Memory Sockets.

Or if the case doesn't have a ready made hole to use.

Use one or two Rubber Bumper Feet under the PCB were the Memory Slots are.
This will give the Motherboard extra support, So it won't flex while you're inserting more Memory Sticks.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 12th, 2020, 01:34 PM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Yes indeed! I was afraid I was going to break it. Great idea to slide a shim under. Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.