Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Topic Tools
Old October 15th, 2010, 08:47 PM

restoring files on windows 7

So I backed everything up from my old OS (windows xp media center) just like the microsoft site told me to....

And now that I've upgraded to windows 7, I can't seem to restore those files.

I even downloaded the micorsoft update standalone package (Windows6.1-KB974674-x86) which gets me to the backup/restore wizard... but after running that for half an hour, I get told that "some" files couldn't be restored.

"Some." Right. More like all. Doesn't even seem like anything happened.

Do you folks have any ideas? Would appreciate the help. In retrospect I'm kind of glad I got a subscription here, even though I didn't know how much of a pain this was going to be....

Thanks....

Old October 25th, 2010, 09:20 PM
CTH Subscriber

O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
KB974674 should have done the job halleck3. Have you installed the software that created the files that were backed up? If not, do so and try again.

If you have and still no luck, try the suggestions here.
Old October 25th, 2010, 10:42 PM

AnnMarie, thanks once again for the quick response. KB974674 doesn't seem to work for some reason. After the first time (when it seemed nothing happened) now it just pops up a box with "searching for updates on this computer" and that's all it will say(even after a couple hours).

As far as the software that created the files, do you mean I'd have to buy word, excel, photo editor, etc., again? They were on there before I upgraded... does this mean they're not in the extrenal drive (my apologies if this is a stupid question...). I could do that, but it looks like absolutely nothing has been copied over from the extrenal drive, even the things which weren't word/excel/picture files, etc.

Thanks!
Old October 25th, 2010, 11:44 PM
CTH Subscriber