Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 11th, 2007, 05:14 PM
TMO15 TMO15 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Connection not strong enough to game online?

So i got my computer straight and finally installed Starcraft Brood War but for some reason my comp still won't DL maps and it loads really slow. Could my firewall be preventing the DL or is my router causing the internet connection to be slower?

Mod could you please move this to gaming.

Last edited by TMO15; January 11th, 2007 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 11th, 2007, 08:58 PM
IronAces's Avatar
IronAces IronAces is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 127
Er i suppose it could be your router, this is abit of a no brainer but try opening every port (have a software firewall installed) on the router, its what i would try first, i had a problem with connecting to other users on c&c generals so i did exactly that, and it works fine now, could be wrong, but worth a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 11th, 2007, 09:17 PM
TMO15 TMO15 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
How do i go about open all the ports?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 11th, 2007, 09:48 PM
lustigj90 lustigj90 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 101
http://www.portforward.com look at starcraft section and do what it says for your router. if it doesnt have you router google your router make and model with port forwarding and something may come up then. it could also be your firewall so if opening the ports on your router doesnt work post back with the name of your firewall.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 11th, 2007, 11:45 PM
TMO15 TMO15 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Ok well that didn't work either. The only firewall i have is windows firewall. The two times actually got into a game i lagged out immediately. I just want to play some Starcraft!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 12th, 2007, 12:03 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 31
Posts: 4,268
what connection do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 12th, 2007, 12:06 AM
TMO15 TMO15 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
I have comcast.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 14th, 2007, 05:29 PM
nowshining's Avatar
nowshining nowshining is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 98
Location: Oildale, Ca.
Age: 32
Posts: 202
I read where windows firewall can cause problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 14th, 2007, 07:13 PM
TMO15 TMO15 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
even when the firewall is turned off it still won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 14th, 2007, 07:24 PM
lustigj90 lustigj90 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 101
check which battle.net server you are using, im not sure about starcraft but warcraft you have to select the right area eg. im in the UK and i make sure i use the Europe servers, not the US ones.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 14th, 2007, 09:26 PM
TMO15 TMO15 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
I am in Virginia, USA and i use the east servers so that shouldn't be it but maybe i will try a different one.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 14th, 2007, 11:50 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 31
Posts: 4,268
comcast... what connection not hte service provider

ADSL - dl and ul speeds
Cable - again dl and upload speeds
dial up - connection speed
Satellite/T1/T3/other again dl and upload speeds
im in australia and i find that US West is faster than Asia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:12 AM.