Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #46  
Old March 22nd, 2015, 09:30 PM
jLittle jLittle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: NC USA
Posts: 221
Okay, I think I'm just going to leave things alone. Except I did follow your advice about java. I've always been a little unsure about it; seems I'm always seeing something about it being insecure. So it's gone now anyway.
Thanks again, and thank you too, Murf.
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old March 22nd, 2015, 09:41 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,422
Sounds like a plan.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old June 9th, 2015, 01:12 AM
jLittle jLittle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: NC USA
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
other PCI bridge device is a controller and part of the chipset drivers. Could be the problem:

Hard to find as your motherboard was used in Packer Bell, Emachines and a couple other computers.

There are many manufactures of this driver but I believe you may have a Geforce7050/610i (MCP73V) chipset.

Have you tried right clicking on the entry and UPDATE DRIVER, search internet

I haven't been able to find a driver for that motherboard, although I am also finding that a Video Card has a similar chipset.

Try going here:
http://www.emachines.com/ec/en/US/content/drivers

Plug in your model number and see if it has a chipset drivers, unusual as Windows 7 generally installs most drivers.
I found what was causing that "other PCI bridge device" error. It was a fax modem! Realized it wasn't working, took it out, and the "other PCI bridge device" error disappeared from Device Manager. Did you know a modem was a PCI Bridge Device?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old June 9th, 2015, 03:52 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,158
Fax/Modem what is that???/God been so long since I even saw one. Glad you sorted that out. As the modem was attached to one of the PCI slots then it would generate not working without the driver.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old June 9th, 2015, 05:37 AM
jLittle jLittle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: NC USA
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Fax/Modem what is that???/God been so long since I even saw one.
Oh, you would not believe how many businesses still require you to fax stuff to them instead of using email. It's unbelievable! Insurance companies... veterans' administration... It's like they think it's still 1975!!! Goobers!!!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old June 9th, 2015, 02:11 PM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,422
I still occasionally need to send a fax which I do through my HP AiO, but I do it locally - that is, not through my computer. Too many times have I see the "suite" of software that comes with these AiO printing devices really mess up (not to mention bog down) a computer so I never ever install the software - only the basic printer drivers. I just make sure I get network ready devices because typically they let you access the internal menu via your browser for scanning. If I need to fax a document, I print it out first, then manually fax it.

Veterans' Administration? Then thank you for your service!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:50 AM.