Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old August 19th, 2017, 11:32 PM
marcus1699 marcus1699 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Black screen when connecting hdmi from ps4 to laptop

I have an alienware m17x (yes, it has hdmi input) and recently I upgraded my screen from 1600x900 to 1920x1080. Ever since then, when I try to play my ps4 on my laptop monitor, the screen turns to a dark grey colour then to a black screen.
I have tried connecting my xbox one to my laptop and had the same results so its most likely a problem with my laptop.
please help

thank you

(didnt know where to post this sorry if this is the wrong forum)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old August 20th, 2017, 01:36 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,249
That particular laptop supports up to 1920 x 1200, try this setting. Also make sure you have the latest video driver for it.

http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/...ivers/advanced
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 20th, 2017, 04:46 PM
marcus1699 marcus1699 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
That particular laptop supports up to 1920 x 1200, try this setting. Also make sure you have the latest video driver for it.

http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/...ivers/advanced
my laptop only does up to 1920x1080

all my drivers are up-to-date
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 20th, 2017, 06:53 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 841
Your connecting PS4 & XBOX to a 17" Laptop Screen .

Wouldn't it be better to connect them to a larger Monitor\Television?
{Unless your doing Vid\Capture}.

Check the Max Output Screen Resolution that the PS4 & XBOX have.
See if you can adjust the Screen Resolution to match the Laptop.

If the Max Output Screen Resolution is lower then the 1920x1080 that the Laptop has.

You'll have to set the Laptops Screen Resolution down to one that will work with the PS4 & XBOX {1600x900}.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 20th, 2017, 09:11 PM
marcus1699 marcus1699 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensign Tzap View Post
Your connecting PS4 & XBOX to a 17" Laptop Screen .

Wouldn't it be better to connect them to a larger Monitor\Television?
{Unless your doing Vid\Capture}.

Check the Max Output Screen Resolution that the PS4 & XBOX have.
See if you can adjust the Screen Resolution to match the Laptop.

If the Max Output Screen Resolution is lower then the 1920x1080 that the Laptop has.

You'll have to set the Laptops Screen Resolution down to one that will work with the PS4 & XBOX {1600x900}.


Signed: Ensign Tzap

Still not working
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 21st, 2017, 04:02 AM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 841
Try using a different HDMI Cable.
If it works.
Then you just have a bad cable.

Still nothing got nothing after switching to a different Cable?

You said that after you upgraded to the higher resolution screen, the HDMI stopped working.

Maybe the HDMI socket was damaged when the new screen got installed.

If that's the case.....
You'll need to check with Dell about getting it repaired.


Signed: Ensign Tzap
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 21st, 2017, 09:21 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,535
Turn off HDCP on your console.
Sounds like the HDMI input is being detected as a capture device, not just a monitor input.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 24th, 2017, 04:09 PM
marcus1699 marcus1699 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 5
none of these are working
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 24th, 2017, 08:23 PM
Ensign Tzap Ensign Tzap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 841
Did you check the Alienware Command Center?

Repair Alienware Command Center: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9N3udRs3PE
ReInstall Alienware Command Center: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GTGL9NVgAY

There are dozens of self-help vid's on youtube from Alienware on "Do It Yourself" repairs.
Check them out and see if that helps.

Also.....
Do you have a Blu-Ray or DVD Player that has an HDMI Output on it?

If you do....
Try connecting the Player up to your Laptop.
If you still have nothing.

Then the problem is with the HDMI Input Port on the Laptop.

You'll need to contact Dell/Alienware about getting it repaired.

Alienware/Customer service: 1 (866) 287-6727


Signed: Ensign Tzap

Last edited by Ensign Tzap; August 24th, 2017 at 08:49 PM. Reason: More Information
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:26 AM.