Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 5th, 2020, 03:03 AM
danlee58 danlee58 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DELAWARE
Age: 79
Posts: 171
Windows 10 Won't Boot

I am trying to load a new distribution Windows 10 from a DVD ROM onto a 500 GB SATA HD. The mother board is from a Dell Inspiron micro ATX with 8 GB memory installed. I boot from the DVD ROM, and run the install. Then it tries to start Windows 10. Part way through the Boot, it resets and I get an error message that there is a System Registry error. I have to run the complete install again, but it will reset during the install.

I have tried to load Ubuntu on this machine previously, and had similar reset problems. I also tried a different Hard Drive.

The Mother Board passes the Dell Diagnostic test, including memory test.

Is the problem caused by:

1. Bad Memory sticks?
2. DVD ROM drive?
3. Bad Power Supply?
4. Bad Mother Board?
5. Bad Intel I5 CPU?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 5th, 2020, 01:43 PM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,075
Howdy danlee58,

What error does it show when you had problems with Ubuntu?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 5th, 2020, 06:50 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,558
clarification - you said the motherboard is from a dell computer. does this mean you put the motherboard into another computer you are building?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 6th, 2020, 02:13 AM
danlee58 danlee58 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DELAWARE
Age: 79
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegade600 View Post
clarification - you said the motherboard is from a dell computer. does this mean you put the motherboard into another computer you are building?
t is from a Dell Inspiron. I have an old case, that had a P4 motherboard. I removed that board, and installed the Dell board.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 6th, 2020, 02:18 AM
danlee58 danlee58 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DELAWARE
Age: 79
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jintan View Post
Howdy danlee58,

What error does it show when you had problems with Ubuntu?
Message: Failed to connect to socket/var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: connection refused.

I can load Ubuntu onto my Dell OptiPlex system with no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 6th, 2020, 05:01 AM
Vdieng Vdieng is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
danlee58,
I had the same issue after I upgraded windows 7 to windows 10. Windows 10 won't boot now and then. That's not the whole story. Even sometimes it runs on my Lenovo, my dvd drive refused to work sometimes.
After all, I don't like windows 10, it's seemingly a troublemaker to me.
I get some help from official microsoft support and the google top result. Hope they work for you.
I do miss my windows 7.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 6th, 2020, 01:43 PM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,075
I'll have to do some thinking on this one danlee58. Especially since you tried different drives, and different operating systems (either which I thought would have solved this).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 7th, 2020, 02:19 AM
danlee58 danlee58 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DELAWARE
Age: 79
Posts: 171
My next step is a different motherboard. I have one ordered.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 9th, 2020, 11:46 AM
danlee58 danlee58 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DELAWARE
Age: 79
Posts: 171
I purchased another motherboard. It came with 1 GB RAM. I installed it in my case and installed Ubuntu operating system with no problems. Then I installed the 8 GB RAM that I used with the Dell board. Ubuntu ran fine. Then I installed Windows 10 from my distribution DVD ROM. That loaded without a problem. Windows 10 is running fine on the new board. I had no reset problems, like I had with the Dell board. This is the replacement board.

Intel motherboard DH55HC with an Intel Core i5-650(3.2GHz), 1GB RAM,& I/O Shield

I think something overheats on the Dell board and causes a Reset.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 9th, 2020, 02:51 PM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,075
Good you made the correct choice, with so much to choose from.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:16 PM.