Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #31  
Old December 11th, 2017, 03:57 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
I am 99.9% sure it is the power supply. There is always that .1%. On the power supply there are some numbers, also shows the make and model? What are they.

I.E. Amperage for +12V =
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old December 12th, 2017, 11:00 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
Power Supply: Model WT550Q (Wiston)
120mm Ball Bearing Cooling
output: +3.3V +5V +12V -12V -5V +5VSb
max (A): 30A 50A 25A 0.8A 0.5A 2A
AC input: 100V - 127V/6A 60Hz 200V - 240V/3A 50 Hz

It's my roommates PC she knows how to use it but does not know tech and repair. It's 5 years old and worked fine til one night it kept powering down each time she powered up. We were finally able to get into safe mode and it seemed to be ok. She turned it off that night and when she turned it on the next morning she got the message corrupt registry and you know the rest.

thanks
kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old December 12th, 2017, 11:22 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
Spec's:

Ca-micro powerplex pro 9100 workstation
cpui3-2120 cpu, intel lga-115 13-2120 3.3ghz
4gb ddr3 1333mhz memory module
mb, 1155 ddr3 to 32gb/gbe/sata3/usb
3.0/vga/dvi/hdmi/matx gbyte
hdd 1tb sata 7200rpm 32mb
case, atx power plex 47 blk/silver
power supply 550w
24pin/4xmolex/2xsata
nvida geforce gt430 1gb vga/dvi/hdmi
dvd +r/rw 24x blk lightscribe sata
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old December 12th, 2017, 01:10 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Looks like it's this power supply. http://www.wistongroup.com/productDe...pid=WPO-550QV2

Do you have a store nearby that you can buy a power supply from that will let you return it if that's not the problem? Like Best Buy, Office Depot or Staples.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old December 12th, 2017, 06:06 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Corrupt registry can be fixed, but it needs to power up to fix it. Obviously it is a 550W power supply. IPR512 has the right PSU. You can get for $26.99 Here:

http://www.shopsws.com/power/power-s...po-550qv2.html

Personally I would not replace with the same one, I would go for just a little more money and get a better one.

So trying safe mode it is still powering down?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old December 13th, 2017, 12:33 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
When you say a better one do you mean one with more wattage? Or a better brand? I've never had a problem with power supplies before.

Thanks
kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old December 14th, 2017, 01:17 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
A little more wattage, but what is important is not so much the wattage but the amperage on the +12v side (called a rail) this is where most of the power goes to the computer, more amps better.

The current one has 25 amp on the +12v if I read it right, so any replacement power supply should have at least that or more. Appears the Winston Power Supply they do not make that model anymore, the one shown on their web page WT 550Q or WPO-550HDV@/WPO-550QV2 both have 2 +12v rails not one.

Anyways looking around at Power Supplies

https://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-C...x+power+supply

42 amp on the +12v rail

Thermaltake is one of the better Power Supplies out there.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old December 15th, 2017, 06:28 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
She contacted the guys that built the PC for her and they had her take it in for diagnosis. Thanks for all your help. I'll let you know what they come up with.

Your help was much appreciated
kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old December 16th, 2017, 06:08 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Will be interesting to see what they will find?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old December 18th, 2017, 12:25 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Hi Kuzzz
Any word on what the computer guys diagnosed?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old December 19th, 2017, 12:55 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
They said it would be about a week before we hear from them.

kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old December 19th, 2017, 12:57 AM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Thanks for the reply. I guess with Christmas coming they're busy building computers.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old December 22nd, 2017, 05:09 PM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
They called today they said that the HD was bad and in turn screwed up the MB and they would have to be replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old December 22nd, 2017, 05:39 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Not sure I'm reading this right. Are they saying that, because the hard drive was bad, it screwed up the motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old December 23rd, 2017, 03:54 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
That's pretty much what they told her. She isn't here right now but I'll ask her exactly what they said when she gets home. And let you know.

kuzzz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31 AM.