Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old December 6th, 2017, 09:55 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
This says for Dell, but it may help you to decide.
http://www.dell.com/support/article/...272903?lang=en

How did you make out with making sure all the cables were connected?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old December 6th, 2017, 09:57 PM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
what would make the CPU fan shut down the PC right after powering up? It just comes on then after a couple seconds stops and shuts down the PC then starts up again and then stops and PC shuts down and just keeps repeating.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old December 6th, 2017, 09:58 PM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
I'm moving it into the kitchen for better lighting so I'll make sure all cables are in good then.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old December 6th, 2017, 10:13 PM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
I found a old HD and it's formatted and ready to use. It's been a long time since I have done work on PC'. Can I install windows on this HD I found using this PC? And then put the HD into the other PC? Doesn't windows always want to install to the C drive? This HD I found is P: drive.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old December 6th, 2017, 10:40 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Follow the cable that comes from the CPU to the motherboard, and make sure it's seated.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old December 6th, 2017, 10:45 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzzz View Post
I found a old HD and it's formatted and ready to use. It's been a long time since I have done work on PC'. Can I install windows on this HD I found using this PC? And then put the HD into the other PC? Doesn't windows always want to install to the C drive? This HD I found is P: drive.
I've heard of some people doing that, but I don't really know how well it would work. I don't think I would recommend it, but maybe somebody else here can advise.
First thing you need to figure out is why the computer isn't staying on.
It was staying on originally so that's why I feel like something was loosened along the way. Make sure the memory is seated also.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old December 6th, 2017, 10:53 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Also check to make sure the big cable that comes from the power supply into the motherboard is in tight.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old December 7th, 2017, 05:57 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
what would make the CPU fan shut down the PC right after powering up? It just comes on then after a couple seconds stops and shuts down the PC then starts up again and then stops and PC shuts down and just keeps repeating.

Bad Power supply or as said the ATX cable (big one from the power supply to the motherboard) is loose. Also if there is a 4 pin cable from the power supply to normally near the processor on the motherboard loose.

Also if you have a video card reseat it, could of jarred loose. Since it worked before as IPR512 said something got jarred loose.

Can I install windows on this HD I found using this PC? And then put the HD into the other PC?

You can but 95% of the time it will not boot as there will be different drivers. You would then need to do a reinstall/repair.


If you can get the computer to boot, after checking all the connections, start hitting the "F8" key repeatedly, then select "Last Known Configurations", this should take care of the registry problem. The registry is a windows file has nothing to do with hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old December 8th, 2017, 04:00 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
Hi Murf it's been a long time,
I've checked and everything is seated nice and tight. I re-plugged the cables. When I power up as soon as it engages the HD the CPU fan stops and then the PC shuts down. After a minute the CPU fan comes back on along with the PC all by it's self then repeats. It had never done this before. Could it possible be the HD causing? I was thinking on putting the formatted HD in and installing windows on it. And see if I still have the CPU fan problem. What do you think?
Thanks
kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old December 8th, 2017, 08:22 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
It may be coincidental but I believe it is a power supply problem. Unplug the hard drive from the motherboard and see if it stays running. If it does then its the hard drive causing it.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old December 9th, 2017, 09:18 PM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
Ok I'll do that now I was down sick for a day

Thanks kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old December 9th, 2017, 09:26 PM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
I unplugged the HD and powered up and the same results. When first powered up it shuts down pretty quickly and then when it starts up again it stays on longer then it did the first time. I can understand it shutting down the shutting down being a safety feature but I don't understand it's powering its self up again. I would think it would just shut down and stay shut down til I powered it up.

Thanks
kuzzz
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old December 9th, 2017, 10:37 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Hey Kuzzz
Take a look on the back of the computer where the power supply is. There's a small switch, what is the voltage set at?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old December 10th, 2017, 08:33 AM
kuzzz's Avatar
kuzzz kuzzz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: california
Posts: 1,606
115v
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old December 10th, 2017, 10:32 AM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Ok that's what it should be, just thought that it got moved.
How long do you have the computer, and did it ever work right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:51 AM.