Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Malware Removal

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 12th, 2017, 01:07 AM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
Blondes have more fun until their computer starts freezing up!!! MOVED BY MURF

Ever since I downloaded Kaspersky Security, my computer has done everything but work correctly! And, I'm using a paid version and not just a trial freebie.

I have Windows 10 and use Firefox. I have a Dell Inspiron 15.

Many problems, so I will address them below:

It sometimes takes 15 minutes to boot up and Cntrl-Alt-Delete no longer works. I have to manually shut down and have to just pray that it will come back on. About 1/2 the time it does but the other half it just sits there.

Constant freezing with notices that "scripts are running" or that "Firefox is not responding."

Almost every page freezes.

It's a mess!!!

I will make a donation to the site if someone can get this fixed for me in a reasonable amount of time. I know everyone is busy and I understand.

Thanks you so much!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old February 12th, 2017, 01:44 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,529
do you have another antivirus installed? if so, uninstall it. I have seen similar issues when more than one thirdparty antivirus is installed.

if you don't, try doing a system restore to a restore point prior to installing the antivirus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 12th, 2017, 02:21 AM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I don't have another one installed. So I do need some type of anti-virus and paid for stupid Kaspersky.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 12th, 2017, 04:02 AM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I did another search and found something with the McAffee name, so I uninstalled it. Let's see how things go now. Thanks for the suggestion. If that fixes it, I will be so happy (and shocked).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 12th, 2017, 05:23 PM
lufbra lufbra is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 12,407
If you are using a paid version, you might want to contact the software creators, and ask for help. They may already know how to solve the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 13th, 2017, 07:14 PM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I'm getting an error saying - Critical Process Died
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 14th, 2017, 02:17 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Uninstall all the anti-virus stuff you have installed, reboot, all errors gone? You do not need anti-virus with Windows 10. It is already built in also with malware. It works good. It is all I use on all my machines with Windows 10.

Windows Defender is in my opinion the best for Windows 10. If you are uneasy then also run the free Malwarebytes once a week, That is ALL YOU NEED!! PERIOD.

You do not need any of that 3rd party crap out there everyone tries to sell you.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rotect-your-pc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 14th, 2017, 08:19 PM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I've done all of this and still something is causing my computer to freeze. It took me almost 2 hours to get to this site today to write this. I think I need someone to look at my system to see what is on it that needs to go.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 15th, 2017, 01:05 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
OK review:

1. You uninstalled Kaspersky Security through Programs and Features??

2. McAffee name, so I uninstalled it, again was this trough Programs and Features?

Your not just deleting the files?

If both were uninstalled through Programs and Features then lets try this:

Press and hold (or right-click) the Start button, and then select Control Panel.

  1. Search Control Panel for Recovery.
  2. Select Recovery > Open System Restore > Next.
  3. Choose the restore point just before the date of installing Kaspersky Security and then select Next > Finish
If youíre not seeing any restore points, it might be because system protection isnít turned on. To check, go to the Control Panel, search for Recovery, and then select Recovery > Configure System Restore > Configure and make sure Turn on system protection is selected.

If you do a restore it will go back to just before you installed the anti-virus (if that point is selected) you only lose what was installed after that point.

Let us know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 18th, 2017, 07:46 PM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I've done it all but still having problems. I took this screen shot of my last error message. I get this message all the time. I've updated windows.

https://postimg.org/image/drz8yddud/

Last edited by toria.best; February 18th, 2017 at 07:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 18th, 2017, 07:47 PM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
https://postimg.org/image/drz8yddud/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 19th, 2017, 07:02 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Did you restore it????
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 21st, 2017, 06:24 PM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I did restore it but it still has taken me over an hour to get to post here. I was using Firefox but switched to IE and was able to get here to post. Is it possible that Firefox could be the problem? I am at the point where I can barely get on my computer and have to start it with the off/on button, which I know is not good to do.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old February 24th, 2017, 07:46 PM
toria.best's Avatar
toria.best toria.best is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
I still have this problem and have changed browsers only to have the same problem. Is there a way (there used to be) where someone can look at my files and tell me what to do? I can't afford to buy another computer, but it takes me forever to even get to this site. I'd greatly appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 25th, 2017, 02:20 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Posts: 3,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by toria.best View Post
Is there a way (there used to be) where someone can look at my files and tell me what to do?
The team on the malware virus can do that for you. It can be a time consuming thing though..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30 PM.