Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 23rd, 2017, 10:31 PM
phoenix1971 phoenix1971 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
administration permission

i want to copy a large amount of data to another drive,but no matter what i do i keep getting "You'll need to provide administration permission to copy this file" i've checked permissions and everything looks fine,but still wont move, please help me
thanks in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 23rd, 2017, 10:52 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,527
try taking ownership of the files

http://www.windowscentral.com/how-ta...ers-windows-10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 23rd, 2017, 10:59 PM
phoenix1971 phoenix1971 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
yve done all that,and have full control, but it still wont let me copy anything at all,is there i can remove any or all permissions ,as i really need these files as they are my mp3 backup
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 24th, 2017, 12:31 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,527
how are you trying to copy them over? dragging? copy and paste? what device are you moving from to what device are you moving to?

you can try the hidden admin feature.

http://www.ghacks.net/2014/11/12/how...rator-account/

if that does not work, then I would suggest using a linux live cd or usb drive, boot to it, then you will be able to move the files without any problems.

http://lubuntu.net/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 24th, 2017, 12:41 AM
phoenix1971 phoenix1971 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
ive tried all ways drag and drop,copy and paste,cut and paste ,even used goodsync to do it,and still comes up with error,and i'm moving them between 2 hard drives in 2 separate computers using cat5 cable,which was working fine about 3 weeks ago
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 26th, 2017, 12:15 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,000
You need permission at the root, and the target drive, but it's been years since I have dealt with this. Does the target drive show on the root pc?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 26th, 2017, 12:23 AM
phoenix1971 phoenix1971 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
yes it was working 3 weeks ago perfectly,i'm just trying everything at the moment
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 27th, 2017, 11:13 PM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,000
I'm a fair hand with resolving computer problems, but just can't picture what hookups you have been using there. If you would still like assistance, maybe describe what you have going on please.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 28th, 2017, 12:32 AM
phoenix1971 phoenix1971 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
what would you like to know? i have 2 pc's both on wiondows 10.the main pc is connected via cat5 and sees the drives on the second pc via shared drives,and wsas fine 3 weeks ago cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 28th, 2017, 01:13 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,527
you could always do a system restore to a restore point back to when it was working.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 29th, 2017, 12:14 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,000
System Restore on one pc likely wouldn't change a dual system's issues.

Okay, so not transferring files to another drive, but a computer with the drive in it. Walk through these steps. to make sure everything you have matches them.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 29th, 2017, 01:05 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jintan View Post
System Restore on one pc likely wouldn't change a dual system's issues.

Okay, so not transferring files to another drive, but a computer with the drive in it. Walk through these steps. to make sure everything you have matches them.
system restore could still work if settings were changed or corrupted no matter the pc. might even try it on both computers. there is nothing wrong with trying to get both computers to the restore point back to when they were able to transfer.

Last edited by renegade600; January 29th, 2017 at 01:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:26 PM.