Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old March 31st, 2016, 10:31 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
I know you've been here for a number of years, and that you're having health problems so I sure wish somebody here could help you with a solution.
Hang in there.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old April 1st, 2016, 12:11 AM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
w1che
Just for the heck of it go to this link, and follow it to see how to disable start up programs in Windows 10. I'm hoping that may give us a clue what that go.microsoft.com thing is, and to see if it's in startup programs.
http://www.groovypost.com/howto/disa...ms-windows-10/
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 2nd, 2016, 07:38 PM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
No, nothing there that would cause the window to pop up I know every item that's listed there.. We know something has to trigger that page however..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old April 2nd, 2016, 07:41 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Dammit, I was hoping that it was listed there so we could get rid of it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 2nd, 2016, 09:18 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
When I log on the first page I see is this one. Do you mean this comes up before the desktop? Or when you open Internet Explorer 11 that is the first page you see?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old April 2nd, 2016, 09:37 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Under Tools > Internet Options> General Tab is the following checked:

Start with Home Page

Is the home page you want listed under Home Page and it's the only one listed??


As I don't think you have Group Policy editor. Lets see what registry entries you have:


Start > Search type in regedit, double click the result:

Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Inte rnet Explorer\

Under submenu CONTROL PANEL, in the right pane you should see

HomePage REG_D... 0x00000001(1)

Then under submenu Main right pane you should see

StartPage REG_SZ.... (what do you see here????)

Also let us know if you do not have anything like the above???

Attached Images
File Type: jpg ie11.JPG (49.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old April 3rd, 2016, 12:35 AM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
I'm in the hospital so to get on line with their wifi I have to agree to their terms of use.. Ok when I hit the agree tab it takes to that null page for 3 sec then it goes to THIS PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED..If I click on a favorites link it goes to that site and all is working well...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old April 3rd, 2016, 12:47 AM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
yes the home page is there & is the only one listed.. none of those reg keys are there..
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old April 4th, 2016, 01:18 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
If your using a Hospital WiFi then that could be the reason. Using their WiFi, generally they have a home page that automatically it goes too. Did this happen before the Hospital????
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old April 4th, 2016, 03:21 AM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
I didn't have this computer before the hospital. My other old computer that I have here as a backup doesn't get that page as far as I can remember..I think I would remember that if it did..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:15 AM.