Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 10

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 28th, 2016, 01:47 PM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
Fix a null page??

Here is a good one on me. When I log on the first page I see is this one..
http://go.microsoft.com(null).. It says this page can not be displayed but if I click past that page everything is normal.. It goes to my home page and all is well.. I can't make heads or tails out of what I see on line about Null.. Any idea's on what I can do about this.. Thanks for anything you can do for me..
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old March 28th, 2016, 02:42 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
w1che, where did you get that web address from? I just tried it on IE11, and it doesn't take me anywhere. I don't get a NULL message though, it just sits there.
EDIT Also tried with a different browser, same result.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 28th, 2016, 04:41 PM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
That link came off the page I get.. It comes up before I can go to my home page.. while that page is up I can click on a book mark & it will go there like nothing is wrong. does that help you ..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 28th, 2016, 04:57 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
I know from your previous posts that you are using Windows 10, and having issues with it. I'm not using Windows 10 so I'm not familiar with it. What browser are you using, and have you tried changing your home page just to see if that gets rid of that null page?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 28th, 2016, 07:38 PM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
Running IE 11 No I haven't but will change my home page see if that works.. Next time I boot up.. I will get back to you..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 28th, 2016, 08:36 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Ok let us know.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 29th, 2016, 12:36 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Windows 10 has two instances of IE built in. One is called Microsoft Edge and is the default for Windows 10, it has a icon located on the bottom taskbar.

The other is IE 11, which you have to find and put a shortcut on desktop or pin to taskbar, depending on your preference.

It is located:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

As suggested you need to change your home page and that will take care of the problem.

For EDGE:

  1. Select More () on the address bar, then Settings.
  2. Select View advanced settings.
  3. Turn on Show the home button.
  4. Enter the URL of your home page and select Save.
For IE 11:

Tools>Internet Options>General
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 29th, 2016, 01:39 AM
Digerati Digerati is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 2,464
Quote:
When I log on the first page I see is this one..
http://go.microsoft.com(null
It is not a valid format. http://go.microsoft.com works.

Quote:
Windows 10 has two instances of IE built in. One is called Microsoft Edge...the other is IE 11.
Did you mean to say "instances of IE built in"? That is not true. Edge is totally different from IE and not related at all. Both are browsers and both use Bing as their default search engines, but beyond that, they are totally separate and independent. Edge is not even based on IE code.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 30th, 2016, 02:08 AM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
I changed the home page but still get the page for 3 scond it then says this page can not be displayed.. I can the click on any link in my book marks & it will open with no other problems.. any more ideas.

does any of this make any since to you guys.. https://www.google.com/webhp?tab=ww&...osoft.com(null)

Last edited by w1che; March 30th, 2016 at 03:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 30th, 2016, 01:30 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
What happens if you go to the address bar in Internet Explorer, and clear out what's in there, and then type in google.com, and then hit enter on your keyboard?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 30th, 2016, 05:17 PM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
It took me to Google.. What was that looking for??
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 30th, 2016, 05:58 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
I just wanted to see what would happen. So that time you didn't get that null page, right?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 31st, 2016, 01:22 AM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
naw.. I only get that when I boot up. after that all is well with the links I click on.. I guess i'm going to have to live with it but sure would like to know why it's there.. thanks so much for sticking with me..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 31st, 2016, 12:24 PM
IPR512's Avatar
IPR512 IPR512 is offline
Jill
 
Join Date: May 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Tampabay area of Florida
Posts: 2,320
Sorry I couldn't be more help w1che.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 31st, 2016, 10:23 PM
w1che's Avatar
w1che w1che is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 4,683
We tried.. Nothing to be sorry about. I'll be back as long as I have windows 10,,
I've been hanging around here for years..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:53 AM.