Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old March 6th, 2015, 06:55 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
In your BIOS find where you can change the Boot Order, tell us what you see?

Also while in there find where you can change it to "IDE"
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old March 6th, 2015, 08:40 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
Boot Order is Corsair ,,first boot is set to CD
Only reference to IDE is
X PATA IDE SET TO :Channel 0 MASTER/SLAVE
This is all in Green a different colour to the other yellow entries and is prefixed with a X
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 6th, 2015, 08:44 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
To save time going thru your threads can we have the Make and Model of the computer Please?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 6th, 2015, 09:06 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
All I know is that it is Dell casing and self built' it was an Ebay purchase .I did a Belarc assessment a few weeks ago if there is specific information you would like I can give you all that like motherboard ,processor etc or other information
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old March 6th, 2015, 09:10 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Motherboard is all I need.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old March 6th, 2015, 09:21 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old March 6th, 2015, 10:29 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Your Manual:
http://solitudo.net/hardware/manuals...31m-es2l_e.pdf


Standard CMOS Features

1. IDE Channel 0 Master/Slave
>>IDE HDD Auto-Detection
Press Enter to autodetect the parameters of the IDE/SATA device on this channel
>> IDE Channel 0 Master/Slave
Set to Auto
>> Access Mode Set to Auto
>> Do the same for IDE Channel 2, 3 Master/Slave

Advanced BIOS Features 2nd entry under (Standard CMOS Features)
Click on Hard Disk Boot Priority

Make the 1st Boot Device: CDROM
Make the 2nd Boot Device: Hard Disk
Make the 3rd Boot Device: Disable

Init Display First: [PCI]
Inboard VGA [Enable If no Ext PEG]

Integrated Peripherals

On-Chip Primary PCI IDE = Enable

On-Chip SATA Mode=Enhanced

PATA IDE Set to: Should not be able to change
SATA Port 0/2 Set to: Should not be able to change
SATA Port 1/3 Set to: Should not be able to change

Leave everything else as it is.

Back on main screen right hand side click on SAVE & EXIT Setup then "Y"

Make sure the Windows Installation DVD is in.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old March 6th, 2015, 10:58 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
I did already try that in desperation to see if is just the F6 key but no key had any effect.Could it be the ssd by any chance as it shows empty but has 89mb of something left on it?The dvd works on my original hard drive so it seems to point to the ssd as the only fly in the ointment ,it's like the dvd isn't being recognised on boot up.

Last edited by lcyber; March 6th, 2015 at 11:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old March 6th, 2015, 11:10 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Booting from your CDROM with a Windows 7 installation has nothing to do with the SSD, what happens you still get the message Bootmanager? Does it come up and ask hit any key to boot from CD?

Did you go in and change the entries as I shown?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old March 7th, 2015, 10:16 AM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
Only one adjustment needed on this list is to change hard drive from Excelstore my original hardrive which it is at the minute (I connected this original hard drive in order to answer this post) and will disconnect it and connect the ssd in order to load windows.My puzzle is at what stage do I insert the Windows disk ..before I shut down with the Excelstore connected or go into Bios again after shutting down again ,change the Hard Disk Boot priority to the ssd Corsair and Then insert the Windows disk before shut down,I think I know the answer but no too sure.There seems to be some significance to putting in this disk Before shutdown as opposed to doing it on boot up.Re the question of hitting any other keys you mentioned , I tried many keys ,all turned up a blank,the Boot Mngr missing is still there

Last edited by lcyber; March 7th, 2015 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old March 7th, 2015, 03:09 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Since you have your old drive in and it boots, put the Windows 7 Installation disc in.

Shut down completely (do not just restart, shut it down). Now unhook your hard drive, hook the SSD up and power it on, it should then boot from the Windows 7 installation disc.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old March 7th, 2015, 03:47 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
Nope,the same result boot mgr missing,no response from any keys at all.I get the prompt to press any key but nothing happens Even Ctrl alt and del to restart,don't,t respond.I only have another USB keyboard that I tried but that had no effect This may have some significance but when I press F12 immediately on booting up Under Boot menu Floppy is shown as first boot device again no response from keyboard in trying to move this highlight down to CDROM Hardrive is shown with a plus symbol as does Network.ESC doesn't, respond I have to switch off the PC.

Last edited by lcyber; March 7th, 2015 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old March 7th, 2015, 04:29 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Could be a glitch, as I have seen this before, will not load USB driver for keyboard, using a PS2 keyboard works. But the USB keyboard works OK when you are in BIOS Setup?

Are you sure this is a genuine Windows 7 DVD, if it is a copy that you got, or someone gave you. even though a Product Key with it, it can be corrupt.

Go back into you BIOS SETUP and under

Integrated Peripherals

Make sure the following are enabled:

USB Controller
USB 2.0 Controller
USB Keyboard Support
USB Mouse Support
Legacy USB storage detect

If you change one then save and exit.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old March 7th, 2015, 06:03 PM
lcyber lcyber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: uk
Posts: 1,451
The problem was disabled mouse and keyboard.The instal failed at the end Expanding Windows Files ,the problem is Missing Boot Mgr I learned by going into repair.Can I somehow copy my operating system from my hardive where it works fine .Is there some way to solve my problem
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old March 8th, 2015, 03:49 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
http://www.howtogeek.com/97242/how-t...d-state-drive/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 AM.