Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 10th, 2012, 03:44 PM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Won't Boot - Blue Screen

BSOD 0x6b - Process1 initialization etc

64 bit machine

Tried to repair it countless times

I used this in rec consol

bcdedit /export c:\bcd_backup
ren c:\boot\bcd.old
bootrec /rebuildbcd

I also tried it with D instaed of C

I see that there are 4 partitions to this drive

system ?
system reserved which is C
OS which is D
Data which is E

The first time I tried it, it worked !
Then on reboot - it went back to bsod

getting fed up with it - am i doing something wrong, or is there another way

Safe mode stops on CLASSPNP.sys
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old May 10th, 2012, 04:54 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
This can occur becuase the Bootcat.cache file is corrupted or because the size of the Bootcat.cache file is changed since the last successful start.

Note The Bootcat.cache file is located at %SystemRoot%\system32\codeintegrity.

%SystemRoot% normally is the "C" drive

In RC type the following;

delete C:\windows\system32\codeintegrity\bootcat.cache (hit<enter>)

Reboot, it will rebuild.

NO

Then get back to RC and type the following:

rename c:\windows\system32\drivers\classpnp.sys classpnp.old

Reboot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 10th, 2012, 09:32 PM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Deleted bootcat.cache

Tried it again

No good


Renamed classpnp.sys

no blue screens, but continually tries to boot

Noticed the Bootcat.cache has not been recreated
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 11th, 2012, 01:03 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Do you have a Windows 7 DVD? If so boot from it and run the repair.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...startup-repair

The proper way to rebuild the boot record is the following:

bcdedit /export C:\BCD_Backup
c:
cd boot
attrib bcd -s -h -r
ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
bootrec /RebuildBcd


If you don't unhide the file and take off read only i.e. attrib bcd -s-h-r, it will not rebuild.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 11th, 2012, 09:49 AM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Yep, tried that

It said it found 1 OS on D:, so I said Yes to include it

No change - I have checked the memory and power supply - all seem ok

Wouldn't be a Rootkit would it ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 11th, 2012, 11:38 AM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
I think I know where you are coming from

Anyhow, I would like to learn how to save the OS as it is.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 12th, 2012, 05:20 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
If the operating system is on "D" partition then you need to:

bcdedit /export D:\BCD_Backup
d:
cd boot
attrib bcd -s -h -r
ren d:\boot\bcd bcd.old
bootrec /RebuildBcd
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 12th, 2012, 08:40 AM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
If the operating system is on "D" partition then you need to:

bcdedit /export D:\BCD_Backup
d:
cd boot
attrib bcd -s -h -r
ren d:\boot\bcd bcd.old
bootrec /RebuildBcd

Error on cd boot
Can't find directory

Attached a screen shot of relavent folders and drives

3 drives shown S, T and U
T relates to C drive which holds non OS files, and U relates to D drive which holds the Wins 7 OS
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CaptureA.JPG (44.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg CaptureB.JPG (47.2 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg CaptureC.jpg (72.1 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg CaptureD.JPG (99.9 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg CaptureE.JPG (30.9 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 13th, 2012, 09:45 AM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
If the operating system is on "D" partition then you need to:

bcdedit /export D:\BCD_Backup
d:
cd boot
attrib bcd -s -h -r
ren d:\boot\bcd bcd.old
bootrec /RebuildBcd
Time is going on, tried loads of things, so I am considering doing a repair reinstall using the Wins 7 disk

Three more things I want to try is


1/ to determine whether there is a rootkit virus - where would i go to find a bootable disk to find this out

2/ Also, how do I check if there is a bad driver involved if i can't boot the damn thing to find out

3/ Would there be errors in the Partition Structure, and how do I determine this


Won't boot into safe mode either - last on the list is CLASSPNP.sys - then BSOD 0x6b error
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 13th, 2012, 05:39 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
So Windows is on the "U" drive.

If you run:

bcdedit /enum

It will show you where Windows is and the boot parameters.

Example:

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {current}
device partition=C:
path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description Windows 7
locale en-US
inherit {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence {96a7ebd1-df97-11dd-8f0a-85d9328ede29}
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice partition=C:
systemroot \Windows
resumeobject {96a7ebcf-df97-11dd-8f0a-85d9328ede29}
nx OptIn

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {96a7ebcc-df97-11dd-8f0a-85d9328ede29}
device partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume2
path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description Windows 7
locale en-US
inherit {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence {96a7ebcd-df97-11dd-8f0a-85d9328ede29}
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume2
systemroot \Windows
resumeobject {96a7ebcb-df97-11dd-8f0a-85d9328ede29}
nx OptIn

If it is on "U" then you need to rebuild the "U" drive.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 13th, 2012, 10:29 PM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Sorry, I didn't mention that the screen shots were from Acronis after I created a disk image on another computer

I ran /enum and confirmed that the Boot Manager is on C;, and Boot Loader is on D:
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 14th, 2012, 01:57 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 75
Posts: 17,236
Out of curiosity is your BIOS set to AHCI? If so try changing SATA Controller from "AHCI" to "Compatibility". Save and exit.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 14th, 2012, 07:33 PM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Yes, I have tried that - 3 choices are Normal IDE, RAID and AHCI

Tried them all

Currently had an idea about using ComboFix with UBCD

Trouble is, when it starts, it tries to save the initial files to the X drive (CD drive) which of course wont work (because CF is being operated from the CD)

It there a way to tell CF to use another HDD to setup its initial files ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 16th, 2012, 08:34 PM
leachim leachim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: UK
Posts: 876
Well I finally sorted it

Bootcat.cache was mentioned - BUT it was not recreating it back again on repair

So I copied one from a working instalation and put it in the CodeIntegrity folder and it BOOTED

It was still unstable and didn't like uninstalling programs or updates, so the Bootcat.cache had to be copied again and again on reboot

I downloaded an .iso of the correct OS (check if you have SP1 installed or not) and did an in place UPGRADE once the old system booted again

Repair Install - Windows 7 Forums

Norton WAS installed - and just wondered if that was involved

Win 7 Crash due to SEP | Symantec Connect Community

Hope this helps someone
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old December 14th, 2012, 10:40 PM
Panik11 Panik11 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
I have exactly the same painful issue. Basic question:
How did you copied the bootcat.cache into the codeintegrity given that you could not boot?!!

Please help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:03 AM.