Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Topic Tools
Old January 28th, 2012, 01:56 AM

O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Dual Boot System cannot set Win 7 as default [help wiping and reinstalling]

Have new machine(new to me) with Win 7 Ult & Lion OSX dual boot. Both work fine, but I am not primarily a mac user and want Win 7 to boot default. BUT I cannot set the default boot system to Windows.

Neither Windows (loaded using "Option" F8 key) nor OSX will let me reset the default system to Windows.

When I try using System Preferences in OSX, I get the screen with two systems shown, "Mac OSX 10.7.2" and "Untitled Windows."
When I highlight the Windows, and click restart, I get a popup window that says "You can't change the startup disk... The Bless tool was unable to set the current boot disk."

I need the machine to boot into windows by default.

I am a novice, so details will be needed.

Help appreciated!

Old January 28th, 2012, 03:41 AM
CTH Subscriber

O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
That error message is generated by the Mac software so I'm transferring you to our Macintosh forum for more help.
Old January 28th, 2012, 03:48 AM

transfer

how do i get there?

Thanks
Old January 28th, 2012, 03:51 AM
CTH Subscriber

You are there. I've transferred your topic for you.
Old January 28th, 2012, 03:55 AM

ooops! Thanks Ann Marie!
Old January 28th, 2012, 03:56 AM
CTH Subscriber

lol, good luck.
Old January 28th, 2012, 04:33 AM
Certifiable Bum

O/S: Linux
is this a mac computer? you may be able to use easybcd - it is free for noncommercial use.

http://download.cnet.com/EasyBCD/300...-10556865.html
Old January 28th, 2012, 04:41 AM

Easy BCD??

I just heard of this Easy BCD thing tonight.