Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 5th, 2012, 11:19 PM
sladden sladden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
O/S: Linux
Location: Tabourie NSW Australia
Age: 81
Posts: 1,288
Home Movies

G'day Y'all.
I am running 2 Toshiba laptops. 1 with WinVista. 1 with Win7.
I have a JVC home movie camera.

I copied all the xmas home-movies from the camera to the Win7 laptop.
I then copied them from the Win7 to a usb-stick.

If I play them on the WinVista laptop. Everything works fine (both sound and video).

If I play them on the Win7 laptop. The video works fine. But, the audio is terrible.
The only noise that comes out of the speakers, sound like the old-fashioned movie or tape-recorder when it got to the end of the tape and spun around flapping the tape.
If I play a music file it works fine.

The files are listed as 'type = movie clip'

I do have some other files in the computer listed as 'type = Windows Media Audio/Video file.
These files work audio-&-video fine.
I recorded these through the laptop camera-&-mike

Can some-one please tell me what is wrong on my win7 laptop?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 6th, 2012, 02:58 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi sladden. What model camera do you have and what software are you using to play the movies?

There are compatibility issues with the JVC GZ-HD40/HD30 models and Cyberlink Power Cinema NE for Everio on Windows 7. See http://resources.jvc.com/faq/00/00/0...lity_chart.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 6th, 2012, 07:36 AM
sladden sladden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
O/S: Linux
Location: Tabourie NSW Australia
Age: 81
Posts: 1,288
G'day AnnMarie.
I have JVC Micro Hard_Disk_Camcorder Everio [JVC - GZ-MG345HAA]

When I double click on a video file "Windows Media Player" opens up and plays it in Vista.
It also opens "Windows Media Player" in Win7 but makes that funny noise.

I have no other software installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 6th, 2012, 07:43 AM
sladden sladden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
O/S: Linux
Location: Tabourie NSW Australia
Age: 81
Posts: 1,288
P.S. I also have a "Brand-New-Ubuntu" install, and, that plays the movie files with no problems. Without installing any special software.

I know that, for a long time, the media used to report that everybody hated Vista. Then they said that everybody loves Win7.
But I am wondering if Microsoft removed something from Win7 that used to be in Vista.

Last edited by sladden; January 6th, 2012 at 07:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 7th, 2012, 02:45 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Not that I am aware of sladden.

I wonder if renaming the file extension from .mod to .mpg would help. Might be worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 8th, 2012, 01:14 AM
sladden sladden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
O/S: Linux
Location: Tabourie NSW Australia
Age: 81
Posts: 1,288
I un-hid the .mod file extension. Then selected it and changed the extension.

In the 'My Videos' folder it now shows as "2011-11-05 001.mpg" ( also tried mpeg) but the 'Type' Column still shows it as 'Movie Clip".

When I play it. I still get the horrible 'flapping' sound and no audio.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 8th, 2012, 02:22 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Ok, I finally found a list of file types that are supported in WMP 12 and .mod files are not included. See Supported Files Types here.

So that leaves a couple of options, convert the files to a type that is supported or look for a codec that will allow you to play these files. Perhaps you had already installed a codec on the Vista machine?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 8th, 2012, 07:26 AM
sladden sladden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
O/S: Linux
Location: Tabourie NSW Australia
Age: 81
Posts: 1,288
Smile

[QUOTE=AnnMarie; So that leaves a couple of options, convert the files to a type that is supported or look for a codec that will allow you to play these files. Perhaps you had already installed a codec on the Vista machine?[/QUOTE]

************Smart Thinking AnnMarie************

I went into www.mediacodec.org/download and downloaded the 'Windows Essentials Codec Pack'.
That, among other things, included DirectX.

Now everything is working real good.

So, AnnMarie.--------ThankYou..............
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 8th, 2012, 08:50 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
You are very welcome sladden and thanks for the update.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:19 PM.