Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 25th, 2011, 01:48 PM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
Computer not booting

I had my computer on Sunday night when I went to bed. I woke up on Monday morning and it had a black screen with the following text:

No boot device available
Strike the F1 key to reboot, F2 to run setup utility

Sata 1: Installed
Sata 2: Installed
Sata 3: None
Sata 4: None

I tried to restart it and it is coming up with the same screen. What happened and how can I fix it?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 25th, 2011, 04:29 PM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Can you post pc specs? make and model will suffice if it's retail.

Have you tried booting with the windows 7 cd/dvd and running repair.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 26th, 2011, 01:22 PM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
It is a Dell with Windows 7 that I bought at Best Buy in April.

I have not tried anything yet except for shutting it down and restarting. I will look for the Windows 7 cd/dvd when I get home tonight and try that.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 26th, 2011, 04:17 PM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Ok we're getting closer. There should be a model number somewhere on the front of the case, something like Dimension 4400. If there isn't it'll be on a sticker located on the rear or side of the case. With that number I can look at the spec sheet and know what hardware we're dealing with. and where to start looking for the cause.

the No boot device available error just tells me that the pc can't find the bootloader and load the OS. It can be caused by anything from the boot from device setting in the bios needs to be corrected, to a corrupted mbr (master boot record).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 26th, 2011, 04:19 PM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
Ok, I will check on that tonight and post what I find tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 27th, 2011, 01:27 PM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
My computer is an Inspiron 580.

I could not find/do not have a Windows 7 cd/dvd. It came preinstalled and I don't believe that I got a disc with it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 27th, 2011, 10:45 PM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Dell has a built in recovery partition (not sure if you can access it if the mbr is bad). but try this, when you boot up, and while the dell logo is onscreen start pushing F8 and see if you can access the dell repair options. If you can get to the repair menu, look for a repair option (be carefull that you don't use the restore option as this will reinstall the factory image and you'll lose any files/programs you installed).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 28th, 2011, 05:40 PM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
I will try to get into the dell repair options. I may not have access to a computer over the weekend so I may have to post my results on Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 29th, 2011, 04:08 PM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Thats fine, I usually check this forum once or twice a day.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 30th, 2011, 12:38 AM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
I can not get into the repair options. I can get into the F2 setup menu and the F12 Boot Options menu. I hooked my old computer up so I should be able to check this over the weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 30th, 2011, 08:20 AM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
You're showing 2 SATA drives (I'm going to assume one is the hardrive and the other is the DVD/CD drive). I'm going to also assume you haven't made any changes in the setup menu.

Enter the setup menu, and somewhere in the setup there should be a list of the SATA ports, next to 2 of them there should be the model number of the drives attached to the pc. they'll look something like this:

example: WDC WD800JB-00JJC0

post those back.

We're going to get the disk diagnostic utilities from the disk manufacterer, and make sure the disk isn't dead.

If you already know the disk make/model, you can get the utilities from their support site, and run them on the disk.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 30th, 2011, 05:20 PM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
Under the standard CMOS Features screen it has the following:
SATA 1 [Not Detected]
SATA 2 [ATAPI CDROM]
SATA 3 [Not Detected]
SATA 4 [Not Detected]

When I select the CDROM drive it gives me the following ID TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-H653H

Also, you are correct that I have not made any changes in the setup menu.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 3rd, 2011, 12:00 AM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
I also found under the boot settings that the 1st boot device is the CD/DVD drive, the second device is a removable device, and the 3rd boot device is disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 3rd, 2011, 12:36 AM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Quote:
Under the standard CMOS Features screen it has the following:
SATA 1 [Not Detected]
SATA 2 [ATAPI CDROM]
SATA 3 [Not Detected]
SATA 4 [Not Detected]
By the looks of it, the drive is either dead, or not connected. You can open the case and make sure the drive is still connected (power and data cables). But my guess is the drive died (for whatever reason).

You bought it 6 months ago from Best Buy (should have at least a one year warranty). I'd take the whole thing back and make them swap it out with another.

The other route you can take would be to buy another harddrive and a retail copy of windows and install it yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 3rd, 2011, 04:12 AM
cadman44 cadman44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
I will bring it back to the store this weekend. It is too bad that I will lose the some stuff that I have on the drive. I have most of it backed up but not the most recent things; most notably emails.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:34 AM.