Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old April 1st, 2010, 01:18 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Ok.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old April 1st, 2010, 01:21 AM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
AVG scan shows no infection.

Anything I should do?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 1st, 2010, 01:27 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
You can run an online scanner if you are still concerned but I tend to think it was just one of those unexplained computer mysteries. They happen from time to time. I'll post the instructions for you and check out the results if you wish.

Go here and download ATF cleaner. Use it to remove all Temp Files, Cookies and Temp Internet Files, Java Cache and any others that you would like to remove. If you also use Opera or Firefox, also click on the cleaning options for each browser.

Next, disable your antivirus program and go here -> http://www.eset.com/onlinescan and run an online scan using ESET Online Scanner (you will need to use Internet Explorer for this scan). If you accept the Terms of Use, check the box and click Start. After the ActiveX Control has loaded, it will take a couple minutes for the scanner to get ready. Next, check the following boxes:

Remove found threats
Scan unwanted applications

Click Start. This scan may take a while, so please be patient. Go to C:\Program Files\EsetOnlineScanner\ and open the file log.txt. Click Edit - Select All then copy/paste that log back here.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old April 1st, 2010, 04:35 AM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
I've had issues with connection tonight....

Can you tell me how to disable AVG and Webroot? I didn't see any way to disable it.

Apparently there have been others with the same problem as me...

Hopefully I'll be able to get online tomorrow.

Thanks for your patience AnnMarie
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 1st, 2010, 04:55 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
No problem but I'm sorry but I dont use Webroot software so I dont know how to disable it. Check the Help files. To disable AVG, open the AVG interface from the Icon and click on Resident Shield. Look at the bottom of the Windows and uncheck Resident Shield active.

Quote:
Apparently there have been others with the same problem as me...
Are you referring to your connection issue or the email issue. If the latter, post a link please.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old April 1st, 2010, 05:02 AM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
Ok, just got the av disabled and the scan is going now.

The email issue but I don't have a link. I found out others had the problem when I posted about my day on facebook. But no one had the issue with it going to different contacts or the subject matter was changed...just me...my luck I guess. Gosh you are up late or is it early in New Zealand?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old April 1st, 2010, 05:25 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
It's late afternoon here (5.11 pm) at the time of typing.

Quote:
I found out others had the problem when I posted about my day on facebook.
Are you referring to the postmaster status notification messages? Failed Delivery? If so, this is not an uncommon issue, see here and here. If the Eset scan is clear, you need to talk to your ISP about this.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old April 1st, 2010, 12:57 PM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
No, they got their email hacked too.

Still doing that ESET scan, since last night and it's just about half way done. Finding nothing so far!!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old April 1st, 2010, 01:28 PM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
AnnMarie the ESET scan is done and showed no threats. Is there anything else I should do? I'm a little afraid to use the windows live email.

Think I'm safe to do online banking?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 02:04 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Yes, I do. There is no evidence that your operating system has been compromised Alanis and I honestly dont think your email has been hacked. Odd things happen from time to time - they are fondly known as computer mysteries. Have a talk to your ISP as I suggested about the failed delivery notifications.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 02:11 AM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
Thank you so much AnnMarie!! I so appreciate your speedy service and the care you gave me!! Hope it will be a LONG time before I need help again!

If anyone asks there is/was an issue with Win 7 and firefox and some web pages wouldn't open, facebook was one of them....not sure if they got it resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 02:36 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
You are welcome Alanis.

The Firefox/Facebook issue seems to popup quite often. It could be due to a bug in the latest release of Firefox but most often it's caused by Toolbars/Plugins installed, especially if the sites are fine when running Firefox in Safe Mode. To try this, hit the Windows key plus R on your keyboard and paste the below command in the Open box and click ok.

firefox -safe-mode
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 03:01 AM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
OMG, that worked!! Thanks!! Is this a permanent fix? Will I need to do it again if it acts up?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 05:29 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
If you can open sites while Firefox is running in Safe Mode but not otherwise, it usually means that one of your Ad-ons (Plugins etc) is causing the problem. If it happens again, try uninstalling your add-ons (one at a time) to see which one is causing the problem. See here for help if you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 02:18 PM
alanis alanis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 226
Got it...will save the info for future reference.

Thanks again and have a Happy Easter!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:53 AM.