Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 8

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 04:41 PM
SpywareDr SpywareDr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 596
Doesn't really matter what's on the hard drive, or even if it was missing.

If the laptop cannot boot an Operating System from something, it's junk.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 05:28 PM
cmj1981 cmj1981 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Doesn't really matter what's on the hard drive, or even if it was missing.

If the laptop cannot boot an Operating System from something, it's junk.
So it's fried no chance of resuscitation, ,just trash it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 06:15 PM
SpywareDr SpywareDr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 596
The motherboard could be replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 06:18 PM
cmj1981 cmj1981 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
The motherboard could be replaced.
Thank you for all your help SpywareDr,since it's my Lil bros laptop I have to tell him just to buy a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 06:32 PM
SpywareDr SpywareDr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 596
You're welcome.

FWIW - Someone has that same model, without a hard drive, on eBay for $69.99.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 06:45 PM
cmj1981 cmj1981 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmj1981 View Post
Sorry I'm using my phone to reply and it auto corrects but yes I've tried all my install disc on my laptop and they boot fine, ,the only thing I could think of is since he was running ubuntu the file system has something to do with it? Maybe
OK so i was ready to give up when i just started trying different cds to try and boot. One of them which has windows ME on it was able to get to prompt menu what can i do from here?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 06:49 PM
cmj1981 cmj1981 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
i guess it was a windows xp cd because it gave me the option to restore windows xp , some drivers boot up then i see symantec ghost open but it give the cannot open error R:/C1904.GHO? Is there anything I can do from this point?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old February 2nd, 2014, 07:16 PM
SpywareDr SpywareDr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 596
Symantec Ghost -- which is part of the Ghost Solution Suite -- is sometimes used by manufacturers and OEMs to create system recovery image files. These files have a file extension of .GHO. So, in order to restore the backup to the hard drive, Symantec Ghost is trying to tell you it needs the .GHO file. If you don't have the .GHO file, there is no way to proceed with that course of action.

If the laptop has a Windows Product ID sticker on it, (with a readable Windows Product Key), boot the computer from a CD/DVD with that exact same version of Windows on it. When the installation routine prompts you for where to install, you can use it to delete all the current partitions on the hard drive, recreate a single new partition, format it and then let the installation routine continue on installing Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old February 4th, 2014, 12:37 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,002
Might I suggest that either your CD drive is bad, or the disks you are using. Since you mention using multiple disks with different OS's, looks like the CD drive. You can pick one up cheap on Ebay or Amazon etc.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old February 11th, 2014, 01:33 PM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 74
Posts: 2,052
note
use a hard drive program to boot to and zero laptop hard drive,
as windows 8 setup reparations hard drive in to two partisans one hidden with hard wear and Hal layers information etc. [about 10gig]
and one were os is loaded , [rest of system files and main os],
both need removing to get a clean install of OS [any OS. ] after win 8 part load /failed ,
you need to zero byte whole hard drive and then partisan hard drive back to single partsion and make active drive,
then your find you can load os,

default for pxe lan is on, when trying an os boot up
in some ver of this laptop bios,
if you did bios reset
make sure its off ,
this can block new os load up,
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old February 12th, 2014, 05:28 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Where are you on this problem. From reading appears your bro just about destroyed the hard drive and Master Boot Record (MBR) with it. Not booting from various O/S dvd/cd go be the dvd/cd itself being a bad copy.

Option to restore XP, means the recovery partition is still in tack somewhat.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:34 AM.