Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 8

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 5th, 2013, 01:35 AM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Error code 0xc0000001 for windows 8

Last weekend I was updating my computer drivers etc. After a restart I got a blue screen saying something is wrong with op system & can't load properly error code 0xc0000001. I have a dell Inspiron 3520 that is only 3 months old. I have posted on dell site & got to options. First one was to hit shift+f8 when the comp starts to load which will take me to the recovery option. That didn't work as it will always take me to a system test. The other option was after it failed to load it went to a windows recovery page bit none of those options work. Please help
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old June 5th, 2013, 10:54 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Welcome to CTH

When you hit Shift + F8 and ended up at the Recovery Screen, click on See advanced repair options.

Next screen Troubleshoot
Next Screen Advanced Options
Next Screen Windows Startup Settings

There you will find a button “Restart”. Click on this button and allow the wizard to complete all the steps. Note that it will repair your computer without making any changes to it. Once the process is completed, your computer will automatically restart and you should be able to boot windows now.

No luck do you have a Windows Recovery/Installation Disc?

Follow these STEPS (about half way done)
How to Use Windows 8 Recovery Disc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 5th, 2013, 11:00 PM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Ya when I tried the shift f8 option it doesn't go to the advanced repair page you are speaking of. I tried the recovery disc & it said something along the lines of this disc is not usable for this system
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 6th, 2013, 07:39 PM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
So since I can't get the recovery screen to come up & the recovery disc doesn't seem to work what do I do now??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 6th, 2013, 11:11 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Did a recovery disk come with the computer? If so what does it say on the label?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 6th, 2013, 11:13 PM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
No recovery disc came with the computer at least not that I can find. I burnt one when I 1st got it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 7th, 2013, 01:39 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Reboot and immediately start tapping the F8 key, should bring you to a screen. Select Refresh.

NO then

Try getting into Bios Setup, usually a F key, 1st screen tells you which key. Once in Setup find where you set the boot order. Make the CDROM/DVD the 1st boot device (have the recovery cd in). Save and exit, see if it boots from the cd.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 7th, 2013, 02:12 AM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
I have tried both those options & no luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 7th, 2013, 06:04 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
Reboot the computer and tap the <F12> key several times at the Dell logo screen. This will start the One-Time Boot Menu. Select Diagnostics to start the diagnostic assessment of the computer hardware. See if it tells you anything.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 7th, 2013, 07:21 PM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Lol I have already done the full diagnostic tests & no issues were found.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 7th, 2013, 09:51 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 74
Posts: 17,235
I'm out of ideas. The last resort is to reset it back to factory defaults, which means you lose everything you put on it since you bought it.

1. Plug in your laptop using the power cord. Turn on the laptop. Watch for the blue bar at the top of the screen. Immediately press "Ctrl-F11" on your keyboard.

2. Click "Restore" and "Confirm" to launch the recovery process. Wait several minutes for the process to complete. Click "Finish" to reboot your laptop. Click "Yes" at the prompt.

3. Wait for the computer to reboot. Read and accept the End User License Agreement and then click "Next." Click "OK" at the prompt to load the operating system.

However, please try this:

Shutdown, reboot Tap the "F2" button once a second to enter BIOS

Find where you can do the following;

Diable Fast Boot
Disable Secure Boot
ENABLE legacy boot
Save and Exit

Now start tapping the "F8" key if it brings up a menu select Safe Mode with Networking

Now restart again??????????
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 7th, 2013, 10:41 PM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
I will try that when I get home. If that doesn't work do you know if that is something that is covered with normal warranty??
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 9th, 2013, 04:37 PM
Alphasigs819 Alphasigs819 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
None of those options worked fyi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:59 PM.