Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old January 28th, 2012, 10:48 PM
Buzz Buzz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: MacOS
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,982
I've moved the topic back.

Note to others: Please assist cnsjones in wiping and reinstalling his Operating system. He is not on a Mac. Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:55 AM
cnsjones cnsjones is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: FL
Posts: 305
"Windows not genuine" when it is.

Can we first address the "Windows Not Genuine" that suddenly came up last night?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 29th, 2012, 01:05 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnsjones View Post
Can we first address the "Windows Not Genuine" that suddenly came up last night?

Thanks
you said you have a legit win7 disk. If that is the case and you are going to wipe the drive then reinstall, then the message dont mean a thing. So are you still wanting to wipe the drive?

one point, even a illegal install will still get some microsoft security updates or would install updates prior to checking to see if it is genuine.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 29th, 2012, 03:28 AM
cnsjones cnsjones is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: FL
Posts: 305
OK but late now; will try to start this process tomorrow sometime.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old February 1st, 2012, 02:02 AM
cnsjones cnsjones is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: FL
Posts: 305
Next step?

Had a couple health problems last two days (mine), but back now.

So what do I do , just insert the new win 7 pro disc and boot to it?
Or is it necessary to delete any of the partitions that are on the drive now, (which include both Win 7 and Mac OS X)?

Please let me know as soon as possible, just want to get this done---

Just want to do this the simplest and best way. (Are they the same?)

This is a 1 TB drive, 4 mb Memory, an ASUS MB, Intel i-7 processor.

I have new Win 7 Pro disc for 64 bit.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old February 1st, 2012, 02:33 PM
cnsjones cnsjones is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: FL
Posts: 305
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old February 2nd, 2012, 06:32 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Ok, before you start, back any data you want to keep and go here and download and run Belarc Advisor. It will identify the make and model of your mobo, sound and video card so you can download the drivers and save the installation files to USB before you start. They will be required (others may be too but they are the main ones).

When you have done that, you can run DBan as Renegade suggested. See the tutorial here.

Once you have done this, go ahead and clean install (custom install) Windows 7. See "To install Windows 7 using the Custom option and formatting the hard disk" here. When the W7 installation has completed, install any required drivers and go to Windows Update and install all required updates. You can transfer your data back now.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old February 5th, 2012, 09:12 PM
sladden sladden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
O/S: Linux
Location: Tabourie NSW Australia
Age: 81
Posts: 1,288
If I want to re-install WinVista into a computer with a system-installed or a system-corrupted so that Vista CD can't boot.
I just dig out an old win2000 disk (They allways seem to boot). Go through the install sequence as far as, "delete > create > format".
Then shut down and re-boot with the Vista disk

I know this is a win7 problem, but I am hoping that the idea might help'.

Last edited by sladden; February 5th, 2012 at 09:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:58 PM.