Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 1st, 2010, 09:58 AM
melodysue melodysue is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Union City, Calif.
Posts: 108
Windows 7 Starter running slow

I just recieved a new Eee PC with Windows 7 Starter on it. It seemed to run fine. It's starting to get very slow. I don't have any new programs installed. I tried to do a system restore and it wouldn't let me. I am starting to get extremely frustrated (to the point of tossing it out a window, LOL). I'm sure it's something very easy that I'm not thinking of. I haven't even had the notebook a month yet! Please give me some tips! Thanks Melody
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old April 1st, 2010, 10:28 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,529
exactly what model of eee pc? also how much ram? exactly what happens when you try a system restore? any error messages?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 10:32 PM
melodysue melodysue is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Union City, Calif.
Posts: 108
Model 100HAB, RAM 1.00 GB, no errors come up after I try the restore. It says that it could not complete successfully because it could not access a file. Probably because an anti-virus program is running. So I turned my anti-virus off until I restarted. Same exact message came up. Does that help?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 3rd, 2010, 01:54 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,529
first of all, win7 will work with one gig of ram but it should really have two. It is going to be slow and as you add more programs to it that runs in the background, it could get slower.

try going into safemode and see if you can do a system restore. tap f8 several times right after turning on the computer.

Exactly what antivirus are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 4th, 2010, 03:51 AM
littleAngel89 littleAngel89 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
I think with EEc pc you shouldn't use windows 7. It's not strong enough. XP may be a good choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 4th, 2010, 11:26 PM
melodysue melodysue is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Union City, Calif.
Posts: 108
I am running Norton through Comcast.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 4th, 2010, 11:28 PM
melodysue melodysue is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Union City, Calif.
Posts: 108
Tip and Tricks

Aren't there any tips and tricks for Windows Starter? Plus Starter is what came with this computer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 4th, 2010, 11:59 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,529
you really do not have a fast computer. as I said before, as you add programs you need, it will slow down. Nothing you can really do about it - this is with any computer. all you can really do is keep your computer clean of temporary files. Uninstall any programs you never use, make sure at startup you turn off anything that can be started manually when needed. Also keep your virus and trojan scans uptodate.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 9th, 2010, 12:55 AM
melodysue melodysue is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Union City, Calif.
Posts: 108
can you tell me where to get codecs for win7 starter?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:08 AM.