Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows Vista

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 3rd, 2009, 06:24 AM
absolutelyangi absolutelyangi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 15
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 3.00 GB

Can anyone tell me why I have 3 GB's of RAM, how come Vista Bus. isn't utilizing all of it? Sometimes after running graphic programs or surfing the web for a bit too long, my system starts slowing down and then I have to re-start.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Angi
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 3rd, 2009, 06:34 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi again Angi. Looking at your specs here, you only have 1.76GB's available for use which means that your processes are using up nearly half your memory right now. To see if this is being eaten up by your startups, can you reboot please, run msinfo32 again and repost your summary in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 3rd, 2009, 09:36 PM
absolutelyangi absolutelyangi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 15
ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 3rd, 2009, 10:00 PM
absolutelyangi absolutelyangi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 15
As per your Request :-)

I put mymsinfo32 log on my site, you can see it here:
http://absolutelyangi.com/my_computer_info.txt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 3rd, 2009, 11:35 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
The most likely culprit is the program you have running at startup that rotates your wallpaper. Try uninstalling it, reboot and see if the problem goes away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 15th, 2009, 12:38 PM
absolutelyangi absolutelyangi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 15
I uninstalled the rotator, still no improvement. Oh well, just another thing I'll have to ignore and deal with. Thanks again for your help AnnMarie. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 15th, 2009, 09:50 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Ok. If you go here and download Process Explorer, you can use it to monitor what processes are using your resources. It might also be a good idea to get your RAM tested but you would probably have to take into a shop to get this done. Hardware issues are not my forte so if you need more information about this, post a new topic in our Hardware Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 15th, 2009, 11:33 PM
absolutelyangi absolutelyangi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 15
Ok, I'll give this a try. Thanks! :-)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 16th, 2009, 06:04 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
You are welcome Angi. Post back and update us when you find the culprit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 AM.