Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Closed Topic
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:21 AM
eriebch eriebch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NF Ontario Canada
Posts: 602
Removing Asus Express Gate

Asus Express Gate

I installed a new motherboard, an Asus P7H55-M Pro, and all went well with the necessary drivers and updates; running Win 7 Pro.
Unfortunately I also loaded the Asus Express gate. Little information was given for this software and once loaded I decided to un-install it. All went well and all traces seem to have been removed from the system except at start up I get the DOS message “Loading Asus Express Gate”. System is set to show all files.
I have gone through the bios and root of the disk to no avail. I cannot locate where this start up item is being loaded. Hopefully someone else has gone through this and can tell me where I can eliminate this start up item.


  #2  
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:34 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi eriebch. When you went into the Bios, did you look in Tools? Asus say that's where it should be found. See here.
  #3  
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:37 AM
eriebch eriebch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NF Ontario Canada
Posts: 602
That was quick.
Will check it out again and give you an update
  #4  
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:42 AM
eriebch eriebch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NF Ontario Canada
Posts: 602
I found it exactly as advertised.
I must be getting blind in one eye and cannot see well with the other.
Disabled it, re-booted and all is well.
Thank you.
  #5  
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:52 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
lol.

That's good news eriebch and you are very welcome.
  #6  
Old January 27th, 2011, 04:56 AM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Disable the Express gate option in the bios. For your board, those options are listed under the TOOLS page of the bios.
(I was too slow)
  #7  
Old January 27th, 2011, 06:08 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Heh, happens to us all.
  #8  
Old October 24th, 2018, 02:33 PM
mackinlack mackinlack is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Exclamation Don't have tools menu

Hey guys!! What if I don't have the "Tools" menu in my bios? I can't find the option to disable the gate anywhere! Please help.
  #9  
Old October 25th, 2018, 07:34 AM
mannatfertility mannatfertility is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1
thank you so much for this blog ...............
Closed Topic

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 PM.