Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 10:19 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 11
Posts: 7,436
Memory size of the card doesn't mean it is better or anything. It depends what model you are looking at , because they all use different core clock, memory clock, memory bandwidths and type.

Like an ATI Radeon 9600pro 256MB would absolutely suck at Warmonger, But a ATI X1950XT 256MB would play it quite well (It's about the equivalent of the 7900 I think). All because 9600 only uses DDR RAM for the video RAM, And the x1950XT uses DDR3. Which is later designed memory and runs much faster, Also the later model GPU (Graphics processing unit - "Graphics processor") support better rendering enhancements and have higher clock speeds.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 10:58 PM
amorgan93's Avatar
amorgan93 amorgan93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Age: 26
Posts: 337
ok. The DDR3 RAM is built on the graphics card right? So i need to get an ATI x1950XT? Dont i need a PPU to play Warmonger?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 11:52 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 11
Posts: 7,436
You don't "need" to. We have already suggested the 8600GT, But that has since gone out the window?

You will need a new PSU too.

A PPU is pointless, You will only use it to play this game and only this game since no other games use it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 11:58 PM
amorgan93's Avatar
amorgan93 amorgan93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Age: 26
Posts: 337
ok thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 20th, 2015, 03:00 AM
Greg Buch's Avatar
Greg Buch Greg Buch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: America
Posts: 85
Yes I think so too.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old October 20th, 2015, 03:02 AM
amorgan93's Avatar
amorgan93 amorgan93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Age: 26
Posts: 337
Haha holy crap Greg!!!! Its been so long since I've logged onto this site that it took 4 times to get my password!! Haha
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old December 13th, 2019, 06:02 PM
Greg Buch's Avatar
Greg Buch Greg Buch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: America
Posts: 85
Right? I can't believe it's been over 10 years.

By the way, did you ever get a graphics card for the Acer? I've probably still got an ATI 2600xt laying around somewhere!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:59 AM.