Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Phones & Tablets

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 14th, 2020, 07:28 PM
gwilym gwilym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: talacre wales
Age: 73
Posts: 855
new ipad 7 cannot get emails

Ok so I have bought a new ipad. I can't get the emails to work. I know my email address and password but am unsure of user name. I tried 'forgoten your 'username the reply was this account already exists. I think I put my email address as my password when i opened the account. I cant try this because the ipad will only start the user name with a capital letter. To be honest i am not sure.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old July 14th, 2020, 08:46 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,558
what email service?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 15th, 2020, 08:57 AM
gwilym gwilym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: talacre wales
Age: 73
Posts: 855
Sky

It was sky account email though it became sky yahoo at some point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 15th, 2020, 06:35 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,558
since it is basically yahoo, the username is the full email address

Using Mail on iOS 9.0 or later:

Tap Settings then swipe up and tap Passwords & Accounts.
Under ‘Accounts’ tap Add Account, select Yahoo and fill in your details:
Sign in/Email: Your full Sky email address
Password: Your Sky iD password (the password you use to access your Sky email account)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 16th, 2020, 09:05 AM
gwilym gwilym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: talacre wales
Age: 73
Posts: 855
emails

Hi renegade, I have tried the above many times, I know my email address and my password it is only the one that asks for Name that I am not sure about I have tried the email address and other things no good. It is a bit complicated as I have not had a sky account for years only the email witch works fine on laptop. I was wondering if the host thing is wrong somehow imap.tools.sky.com smpt.tools.sky.com that's what it shows. My sky account was closed some time ago. How do you find these details on laptop then I could see if they are the same. It,s driving me nuts this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 16th, 2020, 09:30 AM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,558
what email software are you using on your laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 16th, 2020, 09:44 AM
gwilym gwilym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: talacre wales
Age: 73
Posts: 855
outlook

Outlook I only just found out looking at email acc. details, I could not see how to get host details up .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 16th, 2020, 09:35 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
Certifiable Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,558
I am not that familar with outlook but you should be able to go into account settings and get the info you need.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...f-cdb9a8d622a2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 17th, 2020, 08:17 PM
gwilym gwilym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: talacre wales
Age: 73
Posts: 855
ipad

This has been a nightmare, trying to get details from sky about this because i am no longer with sky and they dont do emails anymore. so i couldent check my user name. Tried to find server somebody said type 'nslookup' into Run that came up Server unknown, someone said go to Outlook file and do stuff but there is no Outlook file. I started thinking I have never used the email facility on the laptop I just put a shortcut to the webpage on desktop and worked it from there. So I thought I would do the same with the ipad it took me a while but it seems to work. Still do not know why I couldent sign in normaly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:44 PM.