Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #61  
Old July 2nd, 2009, 11:59 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,352
would DSL lite be considered broadband I am with ATT???
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old August 23rd, 2009, 05:58 AM
Scott McPot's Avatar
Scott McPot Scott McPot is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Wow. This is nice thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old November 18th, 2010, 01:04 AM
mewgirl's Avatar
mewgirl mewgirl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Illinois
Age: 34
Posts: 22
@Sinister-wolf With no explanation of what these options do, how are we supposed to know if we should use them or not? Should we use them at a library with a slow broadband connection? How about on a computer that has a decent internet speed, but has set their own computer to slow down extremely just fir the hell of it but when you hack into the admin account it's no longer slow? Clearly these settings should not be used on a dial-up connection, but since you give exact instructions there are plenty of people who could do that without knowing that.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 06:49 PM
maxluke maxluke is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
The tips to increase speed is like Fire Fox, reduce the amount of memory used for Firefox's cache function. Increase the speed in which many pages Firefox. Reduce RAM usage to 10MB when Firefox is minimized.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 09:33 PM
zack_rage's Avatar
zack_rage zack_rage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: neptune
Age: 36
Posts: 782
hi thanks for the tweaks
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old July 26th, 2011, 08:57 AM
erica28 erica28 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Thank you for the tips guys....Its been a helpful one...
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old May 19th, 2014, 12:38 PM
tairoylance112 tairoylance112 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
There are a few quick tweaks that can really increase the speed at which Firefox runs. First of all, you will want to open your Firefox browser. Go up to the address bar and type in "about:config," minus the quotation marks, of course. Once those words are typed, hit enter. Next you want to type "network.http" in the filter bar. When the settings pop up, double-click to change the "network.http.pipelining" setting to true.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old March 3rd, 2015, 08:16 AM
mikejohnlen mikejohnlen is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Firefox is well known for its tabbed browsing, it would only make sense that there would be a shortcut for opening a new tab. To do this, just hold the control key and the letter "T." Hitting the "F5" key will reload any webpage for you. Holding control plus tab will take you to the next tab. Lastly, holding down the alt key plus the home key (above the numbers on your keyboard) will take you directly to your home page.
If you use bookmarks, giving them keywords will allow you to access them much quicker. All you have to do is go to your selected bookmark and right-click on it. Choose "properties," enter an easy-to-remember keyword in the keyword field, then save it.
If you simply enter in the name of the website, such as "Google," then press control plus enter, the rest of the address (www and .com) will be filled in for you if the website has a .com domain. If the website has a .net domain, press shift plus enter
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old March 9th, 2015, 02:43 PM
papernpaste papernpaste is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
O/S: Windows 8
Location: Delaware, USA
Posts: 5
Great Tips! many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old September 11th, 2015, 01:58 PM
santhoshkumars santhoshkumars is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks for sharing. Its working. you saved lot of time.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old October 13th, 2015, 07:42 AM
perry12345 perry12345 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 9
firefox speed tips

Following tips:
REFRESH FIREFOX
CLEAR BROWSING HISTORY
PIPELINING
ENABLE HTTP CACHE
ADBLOCK PLUS
SAFE MODE
FINAL
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old October 13th, 2015, 11:25 PM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,412
I found this posted @ another VBB site I am on in 2004 about firefox speed tips so Im gonna share it here.......

Quote:
Open firefox

Type 'about:config' in the address bar and hit the Enter key. Find these options, right click each one and change the default values to the ones listed below.

network.http.max-connections: 48

network.http.max-connections-per-server: 24

network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy: 12

network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server: 6

network.http.pipelining: true

network.http.pipelining.maxrequests: 32

network.http.proxy.pipelining: true
I am on IE6 and I set my MAX CONNECTIONS to 48 and man did it make a difference!!!!! (Default IE6 setting is 2)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old January 5th, 2016, 02:30 PM
Jadukar Jadukar is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 22
When I type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return, it shows this message
This might void your warranty !
Changing this advance settings can be harmful to the stability, security and performance of this application.
What should I do?
Should I continue
?

Last edited by Jadukar; January 6th, 2016 at 09:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old January 7th, 2016, 03:19 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,412
I think those are just scare tactics!!!!! (earlier versions didnt say that)


Dont worry and IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING,go ahead and make changes
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old January 8th, 2016, 06:10 AM
Jadukar Jadukar is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
I think those are just scare tactics!!!!! (earlier versions didnt say that)


Dont worry and IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING,go ahead and make changes
Thanks for you response. I follow your instructions and it seems to me that it works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 AM.