Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 13th, 2007, 04:04 PM
Fae_rieMom's Avatar
Fae_rieMom Fae_rieMom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 35
new video card and memory?

I think I need more ram and a new video card.
I have a Dell Demision 4700 Windows XP 512 ram GeForce7300 GS Pent 4 and
I not sure what else you need to know. The problem I've been having is when I play the Sims 2. I just added 2 more exp pac. and it beens really loggy. I went on the Sims resource site and haven't been able to find answers. After about 2 hour of play time it will run really slow, very very slow.
I had in the last 2 or 3 months added 2 exp pac and I do have custom content, but you need to use sims clean pac which I do . I also scan every thing before opening it, plus discclean and defrag
The game will do a quick flash and then it will go to the blue and the hour glass will flip end over end for about 20. Sometimes When it goes back to the game everythings in pixals. If that happens I restart the game and on the desktop I get the message low on virtual memory. 1 nite I left the messgage on and the virtual memory message was still the, but whent I restrated it, it was gone Other times the screen will go black and the only thing I can do is restart it with the power button. When it boots back up I get a message that the pc has recovered from a fatal error and it was the video driver, but my driver is up to date
So my question is if I get more memory will I need 2 sticks and what do you think about upgragding to a different video card

I really need help with this, I'm on disability and my pc is my only fun

Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old May 13th, 2007, 06:54 PM
leroys1000 leroys1000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Boise,Idaho
Posts: 1,764
Right click the "my computer icon" and click properties.
Claick the advanced tab and click the settings button
under performance.
Clack the advanced tab and click the change button
under virtual memory.
Select custom size.
Set virtual memory to at least 1500MB in both boxes.
Click the ok buttons to close all windws and restart
the computer.
That should take care of the virtual memory problem.
Adding another 512MB memory will help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:24 PM.