Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old August 10th, 2004, 09:13 AM
thewalrus's Avatar
thewalrus thewalrus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Talking Game Problem!

I have an Asus A7S333 board with a SIS 745 chipset. 512 megs ddr. XP 1800+. The Vid card is a Geforce2 400MX. OS is ME. I've tried installing and running the Rise of Nations game and the computer crashes. Sometimes on installation, sometimes on trying to start the game. I've installed the latest versions of drivers, including Direct X 9.0b. I've tried it with other programs loaded and on a bare, clean install of the OS. I'm at a loss for what to try next. I'm new to setting up a gaming computer and don't know where to go next. Can anyone help me out. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. This is my grandsons computer and we're doing it over the phone from FL to MO.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old August 10th, 2004, 09:47 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi thewalrus, see if something here helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 10th, 2004, 10:03 AM
thewalrus's Avatar
thewalrus thewalrus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks, but, I've already been there. I've downloaded the latest drivers for all the equipment. It doesn't seem to make any difference, old drivers, new drivers = same results. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 14th, 2004, 01:41 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Did you try installing the patches too?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 15th, 2004, 11:48 AM
thewalrus's Avatar
thewalrus thewalrus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnMarie
Did you try installing the patches too?
The last couple of times we tried installing the game, it crashed before the game was finished installing. This has me at a loss, because when I sent him the computer, it was working perfectly. All my grandson did was to install the game and it's been nothing but problems since. Even on a bare clean install of ME it does the same. I've tried it with and with out the Chipset AGP drivers, with the DirectX 9.0 and 9.0b, I've tried it with new drivers for the vid card and with the old drivers and nothing seems to make any difference.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 16th, 2004, 03:44 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,812
Hi again thewalrus. Have you tried copying the installation CD to the hard drive and installing the game in Safe Mode?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:57 PM.