Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2009, 02:32 AM
eddie8796 eddie8796 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
problems upgrading video card on emachines t6536 model

I recently bought a new video card, a geforce 8400 gs (pci-e 16x slot), however i cannot get the integrated card to stop working. There are no VGA options in my bios, and as far as i can tell there are no jumpers on the motherboard. The motherboard is a ms-7202 with integrated geforce 6100 chipsets.

I followed the regular instructions to install a new card: remove old drivers, put in new card, however when i plug the moniter into the new card, the screen remains blank. If i plug it into the old VGA port, it is still working. I am out of ideas, any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old March 14th, 2009, 04:47 PM
Spider's Avatar
Spider Spider is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,862
Hi eddie8796 welcome to Cyber Tech Help.

I can't find any such motherboard, it that the entire model number?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 17th, 2009, 07:41 PM
wfwebster wfwebster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Emachines t6536

Spyder,

This is the model number of the machine above. I also have some questions about upgrading video via the pci express slot on this machine. I will provide a dump below of my computer's info. Maybe this will help both of us Emachine owners.

Manufacturer: eMachines
Part number: T6536

PROCESSOR
Processor manufacturer: AMD
Processor type: Athlon 64
Clock speed: 2.4 GHz
Installed processor qty: 1
Max supported processor qty: 1

RAM
RAM installed: 1 GB
Memory specification compliance: PC3200
Memory speed: 400 MHz
RAM features: Two DDR channels
RAM form factor: DIMM 184-pin
RAM technology: DDR SDRAM

SYSTEM
System type: Media center

VIDEO OUTPUT
Video Output / Graphics Processor / Vendor: NVIDIA GeForce 6100
Video output form factor : Integrated
Display: Samsung SyncMaster 931B
Display type: Analog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 17th, 2009, 08:11 PM
wfwebster wfwebster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
RE: eddie8796's video card problem

eddie8796,

(DO NOT DO THIS UNTIL SPYDER CAN CONFIRM THE PROCEDURE!)

I think the following may be the solution to your problem.

1. Go to your control panel and click on your system folder.

2. In the system properties window that comes up you'll see a tab called hardware. Click on this and then click on the button named "Device Manager".

3. Go down the list that appears until you see "Display Adapters" and click on the + symbol next to it. This should bring up a list of display adapters you have installed (NVIDIA GeForce 6100 and your new display adapter).

4. Now...I think you need to right-click on the GeForce 6100 entry and choose "disable"; then click on your new display card and click "enable".

This should enable your new display card when you reboot your computer, BUT, as I said above, I think Spyder should confirm this as I am not a computer expert by any means.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 17th, 2009, 08:18 PM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,535
According to this it's an MS-7207.
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...105551mv.shtml

Found a manual here
Section 3 pg 11-12
Quote:
Primary Graphics Adapter
This setting specifies which VGA card is your primary graphics adapter. Setting
options are:
[PCI Express] The system initializes the installed PCI Express card first. If an PCI
Express card is not available, it will initialize the onboard VGA card.
[Onboard] The system initializes the onboard VGA card first.
OnChip and PCIe VGA selection
This setting allows you to enable both OnChip and PCIe VGA, or enable PCIe VGA
only. Setting options: [Disbale Onchip VGA if have PCIe VGA], [Both exist and OnChip
VGA by frame buffer select].
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 18th, 2009, 06:04 AM
Spider's Avatar
Spider Spider is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,862
Good find smurfy.

To reiterate, smurfy points out there is a BIOS setting Primary Graphics Adapter. Do you have this in your BIOS?

I'd also like to know the watts on the power supply. That will be embossed (etched in) or on a sticker directly on the power
supply. You'll have to read that from the inside of the case. Both eMachines and Gateways have very low watts power supplies
and a PCI-e video card wants lots of juice.

Watts is the amount of total electricity a power supply can supply at once. Think of watts like straws in a milkshake.
The more straws the more milkshake you can feed. If you have 10 people and 8 straws, 2 people don't drink.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 18th, 2009, 05:03 PM
wfwebster wfwebster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
After reading the pdf manual for the motherboard, I believe that the first setting would be the one that eddie8796 would want to set his bios at. I also did some research with eMachines tech support and the T6536 model came with a 300 watt power supply. Eddie8796 may not have enough onboard power to run a geforce 8400 gs, as pointed out by spyder.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 18th, 2009, 06:45 PM
Spider's Avatar
Spider Spider is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,862
Part of these problems are emachines and Gateways are very poor machines to upgrade.
The power supplies are often under 300watts.
The expansion slots (PCI slots) are minimal.
The motherboards have a minimal amount of ports like SATA etc.
RAM is minimal.

One can end up spending an amount of money that will buy a new basic Hewlett Packard tower
that is way beyond these machines in quality and it will be expandable.

Gateways and emachines are meant to bring home, plug in, send/receive emails, spin a DVD, and surf the Web.
Cracking the side cover off and looking to "soup-it-up" was never the intention of these low-end boxes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:34 PM.