Cyber Tech Help Support Forums

Cyber Tech Help Support Forums (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/index.php)
-   Applications (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   removing watermarks (https://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=233998)

Total Noob January 20th, 2020 10:01 PM

removing watermarks

I downloaded a copyrighted photo with a large distinctive watermark indicating the photo studio that took the pic. But when I used the directory (Win Explorer) to find it again, I noticed the thumbnail did not show the mark; it showed the the original pic.

Is there a good way to remove the mark by stripping off the layer with the mark, as apparently done by the directory? The healing tool (a Youtube tip) was OK but not optimal.

Thanks.

renegade600 January 21st, 2020 12:12 AM

pay for it and the watermark will be removed.

Buzz January 22nd, 2020 11:56 AM

You're asking how to essentially steal the intellectual property of someone. I realize it may not be a malicious thought at all. But the watermark is there to ensure the image is paid for if it is to be sued. By circumventing copyright protection measure, you are trying to steal the image.

However... how the mark disappears in Explorer.. when images are saved in some formats they contain individual "preview" images or thumbnails within themselves. It is these thumbnails Explorer or the Mac Finder use to provide a mini-preview. Depending upon how the watermark was applied and its nature, it may not show in the thumbnail previews contained within the image file due to the generally drastic size reduction for the thumbnail previews.

There is no method to "magically" strip a watermark off of an image other than paying for the image without the watermark.

Total Noob February 1st, 2020 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Buzz (Post 1306821)